Day 31


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Santa Clara
October 14th 2009
Published: October 14th 2009
Edit Blog Post

October 13, 2009
If I had taken pictures today, you would have had a chance to see that traveling is NOT always the exciting glamorous adventure you may perceive it to be. No…today’s pictures would have shown a harsher side of touring. One snap shot and the stark realities of being on the road would become clear…picture this…all four of us in one hotel room, eating corn curls watching Jurassic Park. This is what happened. On Sunday, Bill, the official weatherman of the group, warned of an incoming tropical storm. We decided then, that on Tuesday when we checked out of the lovely Sheraton at Sunnyvale, we would find a cheap motel and “hunker” down to wait out the storm. So…we located an Econo Lodge in Santa Clara, bought food and drink and stayed put… now back to the visual…I was in one of my “outfits” having showered and put on a night gown by 3pm. Donna, who was in bed with me actually looked quite fetching in her lounging attire. John and Bill, both of whom were enjoying afternoon cocktails, had their chairs turned toward the TV (our room had a VCR) as we watched dinosaurs devour one human being after another. I know I had seen the movie before but I don’t remember all the blood and guts of it…why, I could barely eat my roast beef deli and Raman noodles (our room had the luxury of a micro wave…$48.00 a night, not bad)! We went from Jurassic Park to a John Travolta movie (don’t judge…the video library at our hotel had about 10 movies…Legally Blond 2 was the most recent...we had to make some tough decisions and Donna and I love JT) and then had oatmeal cookies and went to bed. As I lay in bed tonight, after scrubbing corn curl cheese off of my fingers I thought to myself… the sad truth about today is this…we all loved every minute of it…go figure!
Today’s Road Lesson: The fat guy in Jurassic Park got what he deserved.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0336s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb