Brian be back - thanks!


Advertisement
Published: May 5th 2005
Edit Blog Post

San Francisco, Baby!San Francisco, Baby!San Francisco, Baby!

Taken from Sausalito (which is just across the famous Golden Gate Bridge) on a perfect day. Sometimes I dream about being the guy on the sail boat.
So I am home. After what some may consider a long trip, and others a short one. I counted 30 passes through immigration in 12 countries on 4 continents.

I had a fantastic time, but I am a bit tired of traveling (for now). I sort of got to the point where everything started blending together. I found that my incremental enjoyment for each new place was becoming quite low, and that I really wanted to have a bit more stability in my life. Once I came to this realization, I booked a ticket back to the states.

Oddly enough - I am actually looking forward to going back to work. I know this makes me sound like a freak in the backpacking community. But the truth is after almost 6 months of living basically in an idle fashion, I find that I need a bit more intellectual challenge. Also a paycheck would be nice at this point 😊

The fantastic time that I had was really a direct result of the people I met along the way. I can't express thanks enough to the people out there that have made traveling so interesting and fun!

The
Moon-lit Golden Gate Moon-lit Golden Gate Moon-lit Golden Gate

I actually took this a few years ago. It is taken just north of the bridge on a foggy, full-moon night. This is the kind of thing I miss when I am away.
pictures attached here are from San Francisco and from Thailand. The SF pictures are here to show off why I love this city so much, and why I keep coming back here. The Thailand pictures are from my last few nights in Thailand.

So what did I learn from all of this? To be honest - when I set out, I was all about finding the meaning of life. I know, I know, a bit ambitious. Did I find it? Nope. In fact, I developed way more questions than answers. Whereas before I had about a million ideas on what I wanted to do with my life, now I feel like I have about a billion.

I did come up with a few generalizations. Everywhere I went, people are pretty much the same. Of course there are vast differences, but each place had loads of nice people. And loads of not so nice people. In general, I think the nice people out numbered the not so nice. In general most people are somehow willing to help out a stranger (i.e. yours truly) without really expecting anything in return.

In any case, I thought I'd spend the remainder
Spring time in Pt. ReyesSpring time in Pt. ReyesSpring time in Pt. Reyes

Taken on a hiking trip about an hour north of the city. I rounded up one of my fellow "in-between" jobs friends and hit the hills.
of this entry thanking the people that helped me along the way. If there is ever anything I can do to repay the kindness that you have shown me, please let me know!

My apologies if I missed anyone. I am relying on my memory here, which is never really to be trusted.

Hong Kong :

Jacqueline - You made me think it is possible to bite the bullet and move someplace crazy. Thanks again for the dim sum, and the inspiring conversation.

In Singapore:

Tessa - Probably the most interesting plane ride conversation I have ever had. Thanks for that and for all of the emails! Best of luck in your new home in Singapore.

The Chow family! Thanks for the hospitality. Alisa - you and your mom went way beyond the call of duty to help out your brother's friend. Don't hesitate to take me up on my offer to repay your kindness by coming to San Francisco.

Amy - thanks for the constant encouragement over emails. It has meant a lot to me.

Alan - I loved just hanging out at your pad and watching movies. You also picked
Same shot, oppostie directionSame shot, oppostie directionSame shot, oppostie direction

Also in Pt Reyes, but this is the money shot.
out some darn good Indian food!

Sanif - thanks for the Satay, the chats, the island adventure, and for hooking me up with your friends in Malaysia!

Gwen - thanks for an amazing day, and for tolerating all of my hard-core selling of the Chowster.. I also really enjoyed the boom-boom room!

In Malaysia:
Simon - thanks for hanging out with me for a few days in Penang. I still don't really know how we got home that night, but at least we did.

John the Baptist - Thanks for the tips on getting around in KL. I sincerely hope that your luck turns around, and things get better for you.

In Thailand:

Martin and Stuart - you guys are the best. I really enjoyed all of our adventures. Martin - we are movie stars man!

The rest of the Chaing Mai adventurers - what a great collection of people you are. I couldn't have asked for a better group of 13 to trek through the wilderness with. That last night together was totally insane!

Com - you are the best tour guide ever. Period. I still think that you should have
Sunrise over the hillSunrise over the hillSunrise over the hill

I actually suffered some pretty severe jetlag when I got back (14 hour time difference from bangkok). On the first day, I beat the sun out of bed.
jumped off of the rock when we all did...

Maya - The best one day infatuation that never went anywhere that I have experienced in a long time. Or ever. Thanks.

Teresa, Lars, Amy - Kho Tao is an amazing place. Thanks for all of the fun and political conversations! And the diving! I don't care what you say - America rulz, man.

Richard, Nancy, and Nicky - Thanks for the good times on Phi Phi. I think it was a memorable experience for all of us to help out with the volunteering. I was glad to spend it with you. Nicky - look me up in NYC! Good to see so many Americans in such a positive environment. Sorry again for the drama - but I wasn't TRYING, I swear!

Meyung - Good times. Thanks for playing tour guide on our trip to Phuket and Phi Phi and snorkeling.

Nat - What can I say? Thanks a million billion for everything! We had a lot of adventures together. Hopefully there will be more in the future...

Miguel - Hola, mi amigo! Thanks for tolerating my broken Spanish in Koh Lanta. Hope you end
Welcome home dinnerWelcome home dinnerWelcome home dinner

A few friends welcome me home. From left to right - my brother Michael, John, yours truly, Chris, and Angelique
up in San Francisco at some point, and that you enjoyed that Bangkok book that I left on accident. It was a really good read!

In Egypt :
Thanks to all of the Egyptians! Especially the ones who didn't rip me off. I'll spend more time in your country next time, I promise.

In Turkey :
Pugner - You rock man. Thanks for coming to meet me, and for the good times. Sorry the Cyprus adventure was 15,000 times more expensive than we budgeted, but at least we have a good story...

Also, thanks for hosting me at your place for so long. I like Brno!

Dr. Deniz - Thanks for everything! You're an amazing gal, and I am really glad to have met you. How else could I have gone to a fancy Dr. dinner? I like your friends too!

Dr. Delik - You are so insane. I could never keep up with you! Thanks for introducing me to Deniz!

All the crew at the Bau Haus hostel - You guys made the stay in Istanbul great! I will always remember sitting in the kitchen, playing chess, and watching the amazing view of
Sunrise IISunrise IISunrise II

Another shot of the sunrise
the ships in the sea flowing by.

Jana - What an amazing time in Cappadocia. Good luck with your business in Mexico! I felt like king of the world when we were climbing those boulders together.

Austria :
Kerstin - Thanks to you and your sister for the good times in Istanbul and for a lively chat over some fantastic beers in Vienna. Buenos Suerte en Costa Rica! You and your boyfriend will have a fantastic time there!

Fritz - Thanks for the ride from the airport. You provided a great welcome wagon to this tired traveler who didn't know anything about Wien.

Waiching - Who would have thought that I'd meet a Sactown gal all the way out in Vienna? Sitting in the bed next to me, and loads of fun to boot. Sorry we never made it to the "Sound of Music", but I am glad that we made it to the boobies! Though I am still mentally damaged by the weird ballet...

In the Czech Republic :

All of Erik's students - thanks for being kind enough to not throw stones at me when I presented my travel stories to you.
The street-sweeping gameThe street-sweeping gameThe street-sweeping game

This is in my favorite neighborhood coffee shop. Helen (the lady getting ready to get in the car) has her eagle-eys scouts posted and ready. The idea is that she has to get in the car and drive away seconds before the street-sweeper arrives (accompanied by the evil meter maids). If the meter maid catches her on a street-sweeping day, there is a hefty fine to pay. She waits until the precise moment that they approach, then drives around the block. The whole time this is happening, other scouts have to tell prospective customers that they have to wait for their morning fix until the meter maid danger subsides. Once she successfully drives around the block, she is safe for the rest of the day. Everyone in San Francisco knows this game well, though few are as skilled as the gifted Helen. The really funny thing is that I lost this game just yesterday, and ended up with my very own parking ticket. Welcome home!
I know you wanted to at some point... Best of luck in your english studies and beyond.

Eve - Good luck finding your next lover.

Marvin - thanks for the chess. Best of luck with that teacher gal you have been chasing. Just go for it! What's the worst that can happen?

Ryan - Yikes. Congrats and good luck on becoming a dad.

Rashmi - It was great to see you again! It was so weird to see you in another country. Good luck sorting out what you are going to do with your life and what-not.

Nameless Algorithm girl - I forgot your name, but had a great time helping you with your homework on the train to Prague. No one has ever asked me to help with algorithms homework before. I'm guessing that no one will ever again.

Thailand take II:

Nat - again. Thanks 😊

In Cambodia:

Peter and Bea - I want to be just like you both. I will always remember the moto bike pose that we formed, and the rest of the good times. Thanks for helping me keep my head when we got off
Last Thai sunsetLast Thai sunsetLast Thai sunset

This is the last sunset shot that I have from Thailand. Taken the night after the full moon party.
of the boat at the Thai border.

Thailand Take III:

Nat's family - thanks for the meals and the conversations. I'll never think of minefields or cows the same way again. (Hint to those not in the conversation: In Cambodia, the people apparently use cows to clear the minefields)

In the homeland:

Thanks to all of those kept me going with constant emails and encouragement. My family and friends have been great. They are quite used to me just dropping everything and heading "out" for a while, and it never ceases to amaze me on how much support they give me.

And thanks to my employer for graciously allowing me to go on this little adventure and come back to my job.

The readers:

This blog has been a lot of work, but a lot of fun. I received several emails of support from strangers who happened across the site and liked what they saw.

My ego needs stroking just as much as the next guy. I really got a kick out of seeing the page view count go up and up and up. At last check I have over 4500 page
Random Thai sail boatRandom Thai sail boatRandom Thai sail boat

Nat saw this sailing by (in Thailand), and made me take a shot. I'm glad she did.
views total. I know that a lot of this is from automated "spider" programs, but I'll just let myself believe that my words were read 4500 times. And the warm emails certainly didn't hurt either.

Thanks for reading!

That's it for now. Check back every once in a while. I might decide to document future trips here.


Advertisement



6th May 2005

Great way to end a great journey
Just read the list of thanks - what a great way to say thank you to the many people that helped you out or inspired you on the journey. Ps. The counter is a javascript one so less automated spider counts than you might think :) Enjoy the rest...
23rd May 2005

thanx
Hi! Good to hear you're safely home. Thanx for thanking me on your blog and thanx in return! Was one of my best flight conversations as well. Hope all will go well and if you're ever in the neighbourhood, drop by in Singapore! - tessa
26th May 2005

yahoo
yahoo http://yahoo.com - yahoo
26th May 2005

yahoo
yahoo http://yahoo.com
2nd August 2005

Get a real blog
Dude, now that I can't read your travel blog because you aren't traveling anymore. It's damn time YOU GET A REAL BLOG. ;-) Check out www.blogger.com!!!

Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0807s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb