San Francisco Day 4


Advertisement
Published: July 21st 2012
Edit Blog Post

Today Alisa and I were able to meet up with my friends Jennie and Eric and their two kids. I taught 4th grade with Jennie in Honduras, and Eric worked at the school as well. I know the kids well too, and really missed this wonderful family so I was so excited when I found out that they live close to San Fran and were willing to make the trip into the city for the day to visit.

Alisa and I woke up, enjoyed complimentary breakfast at the hostel and then met Jennie, Eric, Dempsey, and Linnea at Union Square, which is about a block from our hostel. It was super convenient. Big hugs were exchanged and then we met up with yet another teacher that Jennie and Eric work with now in Columbia. We all sat down to coffee in the square and got caught up, after which their friend had to leave to get in some shopping.

We continued to explore the downtown area and did a bit of shopping (Linnea and I both buying pretty flowers for our hair from H&M). We then ventured up to Chinatown where Alisa and I started prepping for our big
Linnea and I Linnea and I Linnea and I

"If you're going to San Francisco, be sure to wear some flowers in your hair."
day in Chinatown tomorrow. We plan on spending the entire day there, as her and I get lost in these sorts of places (not lost directionally, but lost in the excitement of cheap prices for a variety of random things!)

We found a nice restaurant for lunch where we enjoyed curry chicken, chicken chow mein, oyster sauce beef, and potstickers. We shared some belly laughs over games of broken telephone at our round table, and I was reminded of how much I adore this family.

We walked around a little, sat in a park for a little bit while the kids played, and then walked some more. We eventually made our way down to the Ferry building, as the family had come into the city on the ferry and had to catch their ferry home. We browsed some of the shops there as well as a handcrafted market outside the building. I was glad we got to see this area of town because it was on our original itinerary but we hadn't had time and wasn't one of our top priorities.

We were able to then sit behind the ferry building sipping margaritas and beers while eating delicious homemade Mexican chips while waiting for their ferry. It was then time for goodbyes and I hugged them all goodbye, very happy that I had gotten a chance to see them again. Linnea just loved Alisa too so it was hugs all around for everyone.

Alisa and I then came back to the hostel to shower (both showers on our floor had been occupied this morning) and decided to get dressed up and go out for a nicer dinner at a nicer restaurant. We've actually not eaten dinner for the last two nights (other than cookies or bread) as we've been eating late lunches and been too full.

We decided to head to a sushi place just around the corner from our hostel called "Sushi Boat" and were pleasantly surprised when we walked in and discovered they had the conveyor belt idea where sushi keeps rotating around and you just grab what you want from the conveyor and then pay for it by the colour of the plate, as each one has a corresponding price. We were enjoying our sushi and our tea but quickly decided to get out when a woman at the table behind us opened her menu and a cockroach fell out. There were a lot of screaming patrons and one cockroach running between tables. I thought I was done with cockroaches in Honduras... YUCK!

Next we hit up a bar called Farallon, which I had pinned from Pinterest because it had a cool atmosphere with a jellyfish bar. Prices were a little high but we just ordered a glass of wine each and enjoyed the atmosphere.

We just got back to the hostel not too long ago after walking around downtown a little bit more. The plan is to relax and then sleep in tomorrow as long as we can (hasn't been much later than 7:30 or 8 lately) then spend the whole day shopping and eating in Chinatown. It's going to be yet another great day!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Pretty LadiesPretty Ladies
Pretty Ladies

Enjoying a glass of wine at Farallon


Tot: 0.22s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 73; dbt: 0.1267s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb