Here we go then!


Advertisement
Published: April 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well here I am at last, in San Francisco!

Anyway, was a LONG day on the first Monday 24th, left at 5am and spent an eternity being childishly excited at Heathrow, everyone else there looked misrable. Excellent flight over, in fact Ive probally converted now to the type of person that likes flying, views over greenland, canada and the Rocky Mountains were superb.

Touched down in San Fran, and got a lift in a taxi by the most generous chap who had to put up with excited babbling the whole way over, bit of an embarresment at customs when I'd forgotten to fill in most of my visa waiver (those guys can make you feel real small)

The Hostel is excellent, nice and central, admittedly is a bit strange at first, i had a dreaded moment of "oh my god I want to go home" but i went on a limo/bus ride and it got me out of my shell and talking to folk, we went up twin peaks and over the GG Bridge and it was pretty amazing (the scottish may like to note, twin peaks is the San Fran version of Law Hill in dundee, but not as life threatening) Crappy fizzy wine (advertised as champagne ha ha) is a superb cure for jetlag! finally got into my bunk which is challenge when there is no ladder and you're not supposed to put the light on (must find that damn maglite!

so a good start!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0642s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb