Escape from Alcatraz


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » San Francisco
September 26th 2008
Published: September 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Day 358 - Monday 22 September

Arriving into San Francisoc just before lunchtime I quickly found the hostel I'd booked yesterday. Its a good job I had booked ahead its already full for tonight. The downside is though im back in a dorm room. I cant believe it after the luxury room I had in Vegas.

They don't do check-in until 2pm so I had to wait around, but on the plus side they've got free internet. I never realised how much I used it until I couldn't find access to it anywhere.

Finally after checking in I went to have a look around San Fransisco. It looks like quite a nice place as I made my way to the wharf. After looking at some old boats and taking a photo of the Golden Gate bridge I booked myself on a tour of alcatraz for tomorrow as it can often sell out.

It was now already early evening and after 2 late nights in Vegas and an overnight bus ride I was tired and needed to catch up on some sleep so was in bed by 9am.

Day 359 - Tuesday 23 September

Even though I'd had early evening night last night I only just made it up in time for checkout at 11am. After a quick half hour on the internet loading photos I went back down the wharf to catch my boat over to Alcatraz.

At 1.25 miles it doesn't seem that far out from the mainland but they say its impossible to swim across but I'm not sure if those three that escaped in 1962 didn't make it. The tour itself was really good and I'd highly reccommend it.

That took up most of the day but as I dont leave until late tonight I had time to visit the cable car museum. San Francisco is famous for its cable cars. Although they look more like trams beacuse they clamp onto a moving cable they are infact cable cars. The museum was interesting but unfortunately I didn't have time to ride one of the cars which is a shame.

After a quick look around Chinatown it was time for me to go and catch my bus.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0479s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb