The Beauty of Muir and Mamma Mia


Advertisement
Published: July 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Happy third day in SF. Didn't sleep real well last night. Couldn't tell if it was the fact that I had caffeine during the day or the fact that I was slightly unsettled with where I was sleeping. Either way, I was up until 1:30 ish and up by 7:00. I know.. unusual for me huh?

Anyways... woke up in the morning and headed out across the Golden Gate Bridge to this wind-y road, up and down this mountain to get to Muir Woods. GGB was massive, but it was really foggy so it was hard to actually see it and we didn't pull over to take any pics because you couldn't see. We drove by the toll, but because we had 3 or more carpoolers, we didn't have to pay. Why doesn't the East Coast adopt this rule? It may be the incentive for more people to carpool!!

Muir Woods, now referred to as MW, is a national park in CA. It's a part of the california redwoods, huge tall trees that just look amazing. They were as tall as they were wide and you just stare at them in it's grandure and you're in awe at the beauty of nature. We went for a 3 mile hike (round trip.) It was quite serene. Not quite as hard as the hike up to Lake Agnes in the canadian rockies.. but the sights/trees are every bit as beautiful.

After MW, we drove to Sausalito. A very quiant and charming little town on the bay. I correlate it to Martha's Vineyard, but maybe not as expensive or hoity. It was peachful to sit along the water and watch all the sail boats along the bay with SF in the background. I wouldn't mind coming back for a quick stay...

For dinner, we drove back to SF and had dinner by Fisherman's Wharf at the restaurant called Scoma's. It was quite yummy. I had the shellfish saute. It was lobster, shrimp, scallops and crab meat, all cooked in butter and served over a bed of rice and pasta. YUMMY!!! I can still taste it on my tongue.

After dinner, we went to Sundance Kabuki theater to watch the movie Mamma Mia. Hilarious! Everyone should go out and watch this weekend. Lots of great singing and it was quite comical. Don't worry Mary, I'll definitley watch it again when I get home... it's that good!!

Well, that's all folks. Nothing too exciting or extensive today. Tomorrow... hope to get some good shopping in. I can't believe it's almost time to go home and back to work... How can that be.....

Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 11; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0402s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb