LA and SF


Advertisement
Published: July 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I´ve been away for two weeks. It has flown!

I got into LA on Monday 18 June at 7am. The shuttle bus took two hours to drop me off at our hotel which should´ve taken only 35 mins. Nothing to stress about as I had time to kill because Matt wasn´t arriving from SF until midday, but hotel staff let me check in early because of my trustworthy face. We did nothing on the Monday, Tuesday was spent doing the Hollywood tourist stuff, including a tour of celebrity homes (the highlight of which was the air-conditioned limo). LA was bloody hot and difficult to get used to after shitty Sydney weather. On Wednesday we went to Disneyland! First stop: the teacups! After that we weren´t too fussed about which rides we went on. The longest we lined up was an hour for a photo with Mickey. It was pretty packed despite it not being school holidays yet. It was quite an experience in that I´d never seen so many fat people on motorised scooters. And the screaming bloody kids, I´d had enough by mid afternoon.

Highlights: the Pirates of the Caribbean and Indiana Jones rides.

We flew up to SF on Thursday 21 June. What should´ve been a painless one hour flight turned into delay after delay -- thanks United, you suck -- and we managed to get home by 7pm instead of mid afternoon. I went to Hot Pants on Friday 22 June with Tuck, Terry and Phil which is always good fun. I met someone that night who I made plans to attend Pink Saturday + the Dyke March with but instead we went out for cocktails and something to eat and ended up missing the whole thing! We also missed the Parade and Celebrations at the Civic on the Sunday. Things went so well that I spent last weekend with them in LA and saw a completely different side of LA -- it ain´t too shabby when you have a local show you around. During my stay in SF, I had dinner with Brendon and Petko at Bobbe´s family´s restaurant at Fishermans Wharf which was good fun. It´s strange to think there´s no more AWAS, at least not how we know it.

Highlights: Drinking cocktails on the rooftop of The Standard Hotel in downtown LA on a gloriously sunny day while normal people had to work.

Things have been going so well with said suitor that they will be joining me in Havana in two weeks! Followed by Puerto Angel in September! Meeting someone on my trip, let alone this early, was never part of my itinerary. But I´m enjoying it! And God knows, I deserve it 😊



Advertisement



Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0529s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb