OK, not done yet


Advertisement
Published: August 17th 2005
Edit Blog Post

So I thought this little adventure was over, but I just got an e-mail from Peru that I had to forward on. My friend Julie (the one I knew previously from Africa) just had to have an operation while in Peru...here is her e-mail

"I barely have the energy to write this and I will fill you in later next week when I return but I was flown by medical jet out of ayacucho and had an emergency appendectomy. It was so scary. I was released today but am still very weak. All I know is that I am going to need some serious therapy after this! I am staying with someone through my Moms connection until I an strong enough to fly. Please let amanda and the Ayacucho girls know. I could use all of the positive energy I can get. Xx"

Really pretty scary stuff...so please send good thoughts...and hopefully she will be home safe soon. I am hearing rumours that another girl, Lynn, had to go through the same thing. I'm not sure how they ended up with the same problem.

Also, you might be interested in this as well. http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/americas/4143828.stm
There is some crazy stuff going on down there!

As for my personal life here at home...I came home to a great weekend. Some friends I haven't seen for years from San Diego were up in the city, so I got to hang out with them and go see Dave Matthews Band! Great show, great night!

I am finishing up my last days at Computer Associates as we speak, and will have my exit interview on Friday. I am really looking forward to getting started at my new job!

This week has been a little crazy, getting ready for the new job, looking at options for places to live in the city, and getting ready for the weekend.

I have another friend I haven't seen in 8 years coming to visit tonight. I knew her from San Diego and we actually got back in touch because of this blog! So it should be another good weekend, with another good concert...Coldplay! I can't wait!

Well, hope everyone is doing well...and I'll talk to you all soon. And please keep Julie and Lynn in your thoughts!

Kevin


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0261s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb