More California


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » San Francisco
February 7th 2007
Published: February 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Lots of fun stuff going on in California. Right now I am in the Marin Headlands, which is just north of the Golden Gate Bridge. There is a cool hostel here and some beautiful scenery. I went surfing today, kinda cold, my toes got feeling back about an hour after I got out of the water. I also visited the Marine Mammal Center where they rescue animals and rehab them. They have some wild stories about huge seals ending up in parking lots and being shot by crossbows and stuff. They have helped tons of animals, and these darn things are unbelievably cute!
So I left my Aunts on friday and headed up to San Fran. I gave Kate a ride and she shared some great snacks and stories. I broke the screen on my camera somehow, neat. I ended up at a Hostel in San Fran. I met Martin from Sweden and we headed out on the town. Montuzeumas Revenge hit me from the chicken chimichanga that I had for lunch, boy that was fun. We did some dancing and late night eating. Next day we went to Muir Woods and checked out some 1000 year old trees. We drove down the curviest road in the world, went to an art museum. Then had some spagetti and icecream. We went out around 11 and had kinda a crappy night, I dont even know what kind of music they were playing in the place we went to, but it was not too pleasing to my ears, but everybody else was enjoying it, so thats cool.
Went on a cable car ride on Superbowl sunday. It was a rather unusual superbowl for me as I spent it with Martin (from Sweden) and Hugo (from France) they knew nothing about the greatest sport in the world. I brought my football and tried to explain as much as I could. we watched it in a crowded bar and stood up the whole time, but hey thats fine for me. Then I threw a couple passes to this woman and she invited us to another bar, so we went.
I noticed a dude in a uniform and asked him where he was from. It turned out the Peruvian Navy school was on a little voyage. Well we chilled with them for quite a while, they were kinda crazy. It was interesting walking around the more shady parts of San Fran with 7 members of the Peruvian Navy in their uniforms. Ended up getting a bus and a cab home pretty late. Slept in the car.
So I am heading to Hawaii for 2 weeks. I hope it is not too touristy, although I am kinda preparing for it. I also hope the waves are managable. A plane landing that does not involve water would be nice too.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0934s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb