Frisco and the Last Train to Winterland


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » San Francisco
February 4th 2007
Published: February 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

It was fitting that I end my 6-month journey with a long train ride across the Western USA.

I flew from Thailand to San Francisco via a long stop-over in Seoul, Korea. I only was in Frisco for a day so I didn't get to see much, but what I saw of it I liked. Seems like an exciting city. Basically just had the afternoon to walk around. Strolled through North Beach (Little Italy) and Chinatown and visited a Beat museum. Apart from my jetlag and lack of sleep I was also disoriented by my walk through Chinatown and by seeing all these Thai restaurants after having just went through Bangkok's Chinatown a couple days before. Which country am I in again?

Oh yeah! Speaking english, Subway sandwhiches, water fountains, brushing my teeth without fear of parasite, rock n' roll & blues, traffic rules, 24 hour news, and peanut butter!

The next morning, I caught the 48-hour Amtrak train to Omaha, Nebraska to visit my brother. Not really much to report other than to say don't you dare take a bus when you can take amtrak! It's cheaper, there's more leg room, you can walk about, and there's a dining car with pizza and beer. Plus you get to go through really long, dark mountain tunnels and pretend you are in a Jules Verne novel! It was a long ride, but the views were panoramic and stunning across all of California, Nevada, and Utah, and Colorado.

Then I got to Nebraska and realized that Global Warming is just a lie of the left and satan after all.

After arriving in Omaha, Cory and I visited Omaha's "little-little mexico" to fulfill my nostalgia and we actually had good, authentic mexican food. I was happy that I didn't forget all my spanish since Guatemala. Then we caught up with each other talking life and love and travel and with the help of some Turkish music I had got in Istanbul we enjoyed a full-bottle of vodka and made a night of it.

Good times! Its great to be back!

Stay tuned for the final vagabond blog.




Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

Buddha BarBuddha Bar
Buddha Bar

One of 3 I saw on my trip, here, in Lago Atitlan in Guatemala, and Bangkok.


Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 10; qc: 19; dbt: 0.0229s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb