Happy Holidays


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » San Francisco
January 18th 2007
Published: January 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

This entry will be short and sweet. I've been in New Zealand for the last week and a half, but spent the holidays in San Francisco.
Here are just a few photos from SF:
http://www.kodakgallery.com/I.jsp?c=n1ics9r.7vp9zfqz&x=0&y=v4n9vh

It was great to get home for Christmas. I got in on Christmas eve. Hung with the family for a few days to catch up, eat some good food and wine, and have a super comfy room and bed to sleep in. Jeff, the guy I met in Panama flew out for a week to spend New Years in San fransico. We got a room right at Union Square, which is one of my favorite places this time of year. We did all the touristy stuff. Ran all over town (literally) from Union Square to Chinatown, North Beach, up to Coit tower, Fishermans wharf to see the seals and have some clam chowder, down to the Marina Green and up the hills over to the crooked Lombard Street (and that was just our first day!). We rented bikes for a few days and rode over the Golden gate bridge, lunched in Sausalito and took the ferry back. We went out to some great restaurants and saw lots of live music at Biscuits and Blues, The Hotel Utah and even Glide Memorial (that's the famous landmark church in the tenderloin, really a must do). Jeff got to hang out with chubaca, a clown and a transvestite all at the same time at the hotel utah. I love SF, such a unique place.
After a few more days in the wine country to hang with the fam I met up with Susanne (the girl I met in Guatemala) and my old (time not age😊) friend Kieran back in San Francisco for a nice afternoon, before I had to fly out to New Zealand.
Out here in Auckland, NZ I've interviewed with Captain Dave. All went well and I plan to come back here in March and we will set off on his sailboat in April after Typhoon season (that's hurricanes here in the Southern Hemisphere). Rough plan is to sail to Vanuatu, Solomans Islands, Australia, PNG and eventually make it to Thailand in November or December.
I'm in New Zealand for another week and a half and then will head over to Australia to visit some friends.
I'll update NZ photos soon, I have lots of those already.
Kathy

Advertisement



18th January 2007

Looking forward to visiting you in Australia!!

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0399s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb