San Fransico with CSM


Advertisement
Published: January 11th 2007
Edit Blog Post

This past summer I spent a little over 3 months in San Francisco, working with the Center for Student Missions (CSM www.csm.org). My job was City Host, and this entailed me leading groups of students (usually from the ages 13-17, but I did have one adult group) around the city working on service projects. We spent time at soup kitchens, kid summer camps, food banks and other organizations supporting people in need in the city. It was an amazing experience, it was hard work both physically and emotionally draining but very rewarding.

There were 8 City Hosts and 2 City Directors (that live there full time), and I was very blessed to have had the opportunity to work such great individuals. I learned so much from them and they encouraged, supported and made me laugh when I needed it most. At the beginning of the summer I was told that at times it was going to be a long tiring summer, but when we looked back on it we would only remember the good times, and it is true I loved it and am so happy that I took the risk.

I also loved the city of San Francisco.
The Whole Gang!The Whole Gang!The Whole Gang!

from the top Left, D, Zeb, Will, Me, Andy. from the bottem Left, Rachel, Jenny, Tracee, Danillie and Leigh Anna!
I am asked a lot which I like better NY or San Fran, but I must say again they are not comparable. San Francisco is a relatively small city, and everything is close together. I lived near the Height-Ashbury district (famous for the hippie movement in the 60’s), filled with fun one of a kind coffee shops, thrift stores and splashed in all kinds of colors this soon became one of my favorite parts of the city. There was also the Golden Gate Park which was beautiful (I was told there were buffalo in the park, though I never saw them), and the Warf which was a fun touristy place. I hope to go back to San Francisco and spend some more time in the city just chillen and looking around.



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Three's CompanyThree's Company
Three's Company

Me! Tracee! Leigh Anna!
A BunchA Bunch
A Bunch

Everyone say CHEESE!
Looking gooodLooking goood
Looking goood

smile boys :)


13th January 2007

Have fun in NZ!!
Hey girly, Have a super time on the other side of this great Earth! Play safe, have fun and be good ;o) And get yourself to Van to visit me!!!!!!!!! Byyyyyyyyyyyyyeeeeeeeee!!!!!! -B xoxoxoxo
10th February 2007

I love it!
Maria, I love those pictures and I hope you are loving New Zealand!

Tot: 0.033s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 18; dbt: 0.017s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb