Chasing Warriors


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » San Francisco
January 25th 2024
Published: January 25th 2024
Edit Blog Post

At last!! Something free!! The Cable Car Museum!! My afternoon rubbery toasted ham sandwich for lunch failed to inspire me, I still get the shivers seeing the bill and the high options for a tip.
The museum has two levels, the lower level you can see the actual mechanical system that operates the cable cars, the nerdier reader will be disappointed to learn the public has no access to this section.
The cable cars operating in San Francisco are the only ones in the world and you can read all about them on the upper level as well see some former cable cars and scale models. There is a short video from the 70's on cable cars and how they work. I realised I had enough cable car history for one day when I started nodding off during this.

When in Rome do as the Romans do once it's reasonably priced of course!!
I found myself (not that I lost myself) at The Chase Centre to watch Golden Gate Warriors play Atlanta Hawks in the NBA . There was a fitting tribute at the start for recently deceased assistant coach Dejan Milojevic. It appears there is a theme for each game , for this one,it was recognition for educators. Everybody got a free lunchbox and t-shirt. Tonight the theme is Hello Kitty. The time out, quarter and half time breaks have entertainment so no one can get bored; though the heat and dark atmosphere did have me partially nodding off in the 3rd and 4th quarter, however great experience and definitely worth doing if you plan a visit.
I was somewhat shocked they were celebrating 50 games sold out, yet the arena was only 3/4 full, I would have thought celebrating 50 full attendances in a row would be more apt. I would recommend eating before you go as for the price of a three course meal you can get a miniscule hot dog, almost stale popcorn and a bottle of water.


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



Tot: 0.226s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0278s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb