San Francisco - The Golden City


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » San Francisco
January 21st 2024
Published: January 21st 2024
Edit Blog Post

My usual red suitcase that normally accompanies me on these trips emigrated to Canada recently with my brother and so due to cheapness, I took my sister's pink suitcase covers in flowers. I was confident I could make it to San Francisco without getting beaten up for such an unmasculine bag, if it was the Bible belt that would be another story.

If parking at Dublin airport,have your QR code nearby. It's meant to read number plates however it doesn't work. The security guard advised me that it doesn't work when there is a lot parking, which turned out to be b.s. as it was never so empty!!

On entering US pre-clearence; I found myself doing Trump impersonations in my mind. I had to remind myself this was not the place for it, though tempting it was!! I was expecting an interrogation, however I was pleasently surprised it was rather civil. Opposite me though; a young Roscommon lady was getting a thorough grilling. I suspect this was her first time outside Boyle yet alone Roscommon, hardly a threat to national security.
I was on the second lowest category of peasent class flying. You can always tell by how soon your allowed to board.
After 11 hours I landed to a wet dreary San Francisco, I didn't think the Irish weather was on holiday too.
I waited for my brother's flight to land and after a short debate well wasn't debate, more agreement!! We weren't going to pay $49 for an UBER. We decided we would "do the Bart man". It is the local metro system. The most complex part of this is the outdated ticketing machine. You have to keep subtracting until you come to the price of your journey and then you get your clipper card .
Sadly our day of arrival was same day as the 49er's had their play off with Green Bay and we couldn't sample the atmosphere around the stadium on game day.

By the time we checked into the hotel just off Union Square, our bellies were in charge and needed to eat. We found the Bartlett Brewing Company and had a rather bog standard burger and their house lager. The play off was on and the locals were fist pumping and high fiving every time San Francisco touched the ball. First time I ever watched American football live.

After two drinks jet lag kicked in and I began to fade, though if I am being honest it's fairly normal these days so can't blame that.
Tomorrow the real adventure begins.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.324s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 35; dbt: 0.0417s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 6; ; mem: 1mb