Last days in San Francisco


Advertisement
Published: May 13th 2012
Edit Blog Post

My last days in San Francisco were memorable to say the least. I spent them walking the city from one area to another, visiting friends in Sausalito, as well as visiting parks and Lombard street as well as catching up with friends in Powell and other central areas.

Ofcourse a trip like this did not end without a big bang night out in true Levis style, so I organised a final get together with my dear friends who I was soon to leave behind in California, before heading back to Europe to to the reality check of what was waiting ahead!

All I can say is for those who have been following me on this blog, this kind of a trip is definitely something to reccomend and a must do, if you ever get the chance to do something similar.

Looking back now, the trip feels like it happened a long time ago and it feels just like a dream came true. I was able to distance myself from my normal life, without ever forgetting those who are dear and important to me. The experience of backpacking was certainly a once in a lifetime thing, and I faced every minute of it, every challenge and ever fear I could've possibly had at the time. Now that it's over, I feel satisfied that i got this urge to do this kind of trip out of my system and I no longer feel the desperate need to be away on such a journey. The travel bug has been put to rest of a while. It was more than anything, a personal journey and achievement, and I got to tick many boxes of things I had always wanted to do and places I had wanted to see, as well as experiencing true freedom, letting go and doing it all by myself!

I can only thank those who supported me through this time and who encouraged me to follow my dreams, as it truely was amazing and I met such lovely people along the way, some of which will now be friends forever!

All I can say is, if you are planning a long trip of this kind, there is no need to worry about planning too much or booking up front, just be yourself, do as you feel at that very moment, talk to other travellers for tips of places to stay, follow your instincts and be wise. Travel safe and budget well, and let yourself enjoy every moment for what it is, as you will look back once done and remember every moment as a special one, albeit they are all different. The best bit about not planning ahead is that your itinerary is simply a unique and personal one and different to that anyone else may have done. You take the decisions and go with your feelings and I am sure, as for me, it will all wortk out well. Just don't be hesitant, believe in yourself and everything will just happen as it is meant to be.

The best thing I can say about embarking on this type of backpacking, globetrotting trip, is that having the luxury of time in abundance allows you to let go of any stress, and means you can just go with the flow and take each day for what it is. You can simply enjoy yourself and do as many of things you always wanted to do. Don't ever be afraid to travel alone, as really, you will never be alone! Trust me! Have faith in yourself and be confident about what you are doing. You will never have any regrets. A trip like this is a one off, atleast for this length of time, but it is certainly worth it! It is either one big adventure, or it is nothing at all :-)

Don't hesitate, just do it and enjoy!

If anyone needs any tips on any of the places I went to, don't hesitate to ask any questions! Otherwise, I hope you have all enjoyed reading my blog and hope I kept you all as up to date as possible, whenever it was possible throughout my adventures, and that you had a little taster of what I was actually living at the time.

For me, it really was a dream come true. Now I am back to reality and just concentrating on fullfilling some of my other dreams in life.....

Advertisement



Tot: 0.146s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0689s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb