Give Me a Travel Refund!


Advertisement
Published: March 14th 2020
Edit Blog Post

Is the Corona virus altering some or all of your travel plans. Where do we stand right now?
The travel industry's refund policies are changing almost by the minute. Here's what they look like now:
Airlines are waiving their change fees for flights in March and April.Cruise lines are offering credit for sailings until the end of spring.Hotels are loosening their cancellation policies for certain areas affected by the coronavirus outbreak.


While many companies have relaxed their refund rules, some have gone the other way to stem their losses. The travel industry's coronavirus refund policies show how it really feels about you. It's something to note for when you start traveling again.
So, I cancelled a one night stay in Scottsdale, when we decided to drive home a day early. It was not due as much to corona, as it was to another heavy day of rain in the desert. With baseball cancelled, I saw no reason to make Lexi walk in heavy rain, requiring another expensive, grooming visit upon return to home. Did I get a refund? No! Just so you know, these are my "friends" at hotels.com. I have been a loyal customer for about ten years now. Obviously, they don't really care. The airlines seem to have their act together, at least marginally better, after several fits and starts. It took United THREE tries to get it right. What businesses, travel or otherwise, do not understand, we are all losing $$ right now. And you should see the lines in the grocery stores. I have never seen so many full baskets since my Mom was a weekly shopper back in the Fifties! Are my dental or medical appointments being postponed? No. Am I expected to report to work next Tuesday? Yes, because the sick and the infirm are depending on me. I paid over $300 for my Warrior tickets, to see the new Chase Center. I hope I get my money back. I bought tickets for Hamilton. They said I would get a refund. Why do the hotels and airlines think they are entitled to my money more than professional sports, the theater, or my dentist?


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0364s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb