The San Francisco Treat


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » San Francisco » Pacifica
January 14th 2008
Published: January 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

San FranciscoSan FranciscoSan Francisco

Out by the Marina with the Golden Gate Bridge in the background
San Francisco is such a fun city! I got in late Thursday night, and my cousin Rachel and her boyfriend Darren picked me up. It was a long day of flying, I actually started in Flint, Michigan because it was much cheaper to fly from there. I had a $300 voucher from when I got bumped back in March. I thought it was going to cover a one way ticket from Detroit to San Francisco, but it didn't. It would have cost me my voucher PLUS another $320! So I played around and found a ticket that went Flint --> Detroit --> San Francisco for only $211. I don't like flying, but it was a no brainier. I even had enough money left in my voucher to buy a day pass to the Northwest World Perks Club! So my 3 1/2 hour layover was actually very nice. I had some snacks, a few drinks, and relaxed in the lap of luxury. The flight was almost six hours. As we landed I think I finally realized how long the flight to Australia really is. 14 1/2 hours in one seat! I might go crazy, at least I'm flying with Jake.

So Friday, I didn't really do much. My other cousin Jordan who is now a lawyer came down for the weekend. We all went out to a fabulous Indian restaurant, and then back to Rachel's apartment for some drinks. Saturday was the day I got to see the town. Once we got up, we made our way downtown, and then walked all over the city. It's a really diverse city. We walked all over from China Town to Little Italy. One thing I really like about the city is that EVERYONE has a dog. Everywhere you look dogs are being walked...and they are all well behaved!

Sunday I did exactly what I love to do. Watch football. I also went for a run...which was awesome. We went on a five mile run through San Francisco's Golden Gate park. It was beautiful. It was the first warm day in a while, so everyone was out running/walking. At night Darren (Rachel's boyfriend) made this classic San Francisco dish, Chapinno. It had every type of seafood in it! We ate for about an hour, and then had some wine. I'm not much of a wine guy, but there is something about wine and
Chopino!Chopino!Chopino!

Rachel's boyfriend made this AMAZING seafood dish! Crab, fish, shrimp, muscles, and clams!!!
seafood.

Today is Monday, and I relaxed all day. I'm still nervous about this long flight! Tonight I went out to this nice resturant for Happy Hour. They had one dollar oysters. I've never had them before. They were delicious. So I'm off to Sydney with a belly full of Oysters!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 16; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0356s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb