An urban fort


Advertisement
Published: July 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

First outing with our little S. Traveling with a baby is not as easy as I'd thought. If I remember to take a million things, its possible to forget a zillion! However, we had the need. The need for travel.
In all these years, somehow we'd successfully managed to miss going to Fort Point(The amateur photographer in me always wanted to get the angle of Golden Gate from there).

A sunny weather in south bay forced a huge fog into SF.
The day was pleasant, the weather awesome & the place-need you ask?

To master SF's roads, you need to probably visit a couple hundred times. Every time I think I know part of it, I get lost in some other part 😊
Fort Point is this small(actually very huge from the inside) ruin-like structure just below Golden Gate.
Turns out it has a huge history behind it & the place is actually awesome, in terms of American history. You can actually spend a day here. I never knew there was a lighthouse on top. The breeze at the top can blow you off!

Daddy
was carrying the little one, so windy pockets were banned. Else, I am sure he would've enjoyed. The person who enjoyed the most was ME. I got to see every nook & corner, embraced the wind, shot some GG pictures & had a great time.
Its me handling the camera in a long time(other than of course TRYING to shoot little S).

travelbuffs
________________
“A journey is like marriage. The certain way to be wrong is to think you control it.” - John Steinbeck

Have time? Check these.
Wikipedia says so
NPS



Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

the wallsthe walls
the walls

carried wealthy info about the life of the Fort & the people that lived there
climbing stairsclimbing stairs
climbing stairs

to the windy top floor
a common sight in the baya common sight in the bay
a common sight in the bay

A surfer looking for a wave


2nd July 2008

Thank you
I miss Fort Point. Did you get a chance to go hiking in the presidio behind the Fort? About 500 yards SW of the Fort, there are some look out (cannon) points where they would fire at any naval vessels restricted from coming ashore. Really cool stuff. I do miss the vastness of the Fort itself. Because of retrofitting purposes of the Bridge above, I couldn't take my Godson to play inside. It was closed. I think everyone should experience what we all have... one the the most important Historic Landmarks in Northern California. BTW... Sir Frances Drake's bronze plaque was found right next to the fort. It stated that he "officially claimed California (not known as that back then) in the name of the queen". California actually belongs to Britain. Thanks again, Ryan Rodriguez
6th August 2008

Congrats
Hey Congrats for the new little one! :)
18th September 2008

:-)
Thank you!

Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.042s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb