More San Francisco


Advertisement
Published: November 30th 2006
Edit Blog Post

In the past three days I've seen alot of the city. I think I walked about ten km today. I have also taken a pile of photos. I'll put some of them here, but the rest are at

First thing, some shots from (and of) the Coit tower, just North of the CBD.





On Tuesday afternoon I made it up to Haight St, which was the old Hippie capital of the world. Free love became free drugs became addiction and violence, so a few generations on the place is a bit of a mess. There are still alot of great shops up there. Amoeba Music, which must have been there since the 60s also, is enormous. Maybe 3,000m2?

I was still chicken to have my camera out on Haight St... many bums and beggars. No pics from there...

Last night I went out to Berkeley which is a University north of Oakland. I guy from the hostel wanted to do a flyer drop, he was a Berkely grad so he knew the whole area well. Here's a pic of the clocktower.



Exams are coming up. I shot a video of a big hall full of stressed out kids breakdancing, with about four stereos competing against each other. We had a few beers at a college pool hall and got home on the last train.

This morning I went to Little Italy, also just to the North. Had breakfast at cafe trieste:



....incase it wasn't already quite obvious, I'm enjoying having a digicam! It encourages me to take photos that I wouldn't usually be comfortable taking - and that perhaps don't even warrant a photo. i.e "here's a pic of the place I had Breakfast, isn't that incredible?"

Anyway Little Italy is great. There's more pics on photobucket.

So what else?

I took a tram to the Castro which is the gayest part of the world's gayest city. That was interesting. 1 pic.



Then I went to the Mission which is the latino part. Apparently not as Latino as Oakland, but anyway.

Glitter-painted muscle cars, cutely mis-spelt cafe names, and Ombres...




Also, Chinatown and cablecars. The cable cars are "Fie Dollar one way 'leven dollar all day", and they are noisy and almost broken and freezing cold but worth every penny when a big shiny Cadillac full of bankers locks up its brakes to let an old Chinese lady get on.




Next post from Yosemite.


Advertisement



30th November 2006

Thanks Will a great intro to SF
Hey Will What great pictures Thank you I wish I now had more than 2 days in San Francisco you make it sound very interesting. Hope you enjoy the next stage Good luck Love Roz
4th December 2006

Something witty...
...well, it would've been, only, it's Monday, and my brain has seized. Are you gonna be doing a fuelled tour of Europe too? Just curious due to Prague's notoriously bad parking etc. If you're really lucky, I'll be able to hire a bum to look after it for a while. Take care over there. And enjoy the park.

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0474s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb