Mice in clothes and Dutch cooking zines


Advertisement
Published: June 18th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I guess yesterday was our first proper day in San Francisco and we didn't want to do anything too much so we spent our time walking around near the Mission, where we are staying. Came accross a couple of little shops on Valencia that where so cool my heartbeat went into overdrive. First was Paxton Gate which was basically a shop dedicated to weird curiosities..think glass eyes, stuffed animals (mice dressed as the pope and the devil), a giant unicorn, many different shaped terrariums, books about mutants, and a range of animal skulls amongst other things. My favourite piece was a stuffed crocodile holding a light bulb between his jaws - viola! a reading lamp! If I ever got married in San Francisco, Paxton Gate would be the first place I'd register for gifts let me tell you that.
We kept walking and came across 'Dog Eared Books' which was a giant book shop full of new, secondhand and rare books and zines. Highlights for me were a Dutch cooking zine (SCHNITZEL RECIPES) and 'Meatpaper' - a journal of meat culture. When I went to find Lucy she was buried in old medical textbooks and Freud. We didn't want to leave! Next up a diner playing the Glee soundtrack where we sucked down Ice teas and ate crepes. mm. On the way back we stopped at the "Bi-rite creamery' and had deliciously strange flavoured ice cream - honey and lavender for me and cinnamon and snickerdoodle for Lucy. We dived into this giant warehouse of a thrift store as well - definitely beats the small Gloucester Rd ones back home. Mum you would have loved it! For a split second had an urge to grab a load of china and glasses before realizing that would be the most ridiculous idea ever and end in tears, glass splinters and blood.
Last night we went out for pints of margaritas and I am not exaggerating when I say that this pint glass was two thirds tequila and ice, one third sugar and lime and yet it still tasted amazingly delicious. Glad we stopped at one though...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0464s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb