Torrey State Park and around Ocean Beach


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » San Diego
March 10th 2012
Published: March 11th 2012
Edit Blog Post

(Note: I finally caught up on my entries – so if you scroll down you’ll get the ones I was late posting 😊 Hopefully I’ll be able to do my one a day the rest of the trip... at least until I get to San Francisco and have another overnight bus ride)

Tonight I think I’m going to use my eye-mask... I woke up so early this morning because of the sun, so I don’t want a repeat especially with the spring-forward.

San Diego, your weather... we need to talk here. During the day so perfect, warm and toasty... at night... not so much. I’m writing this, sitting out on the porch in my sweater and scarf, shivering lol. I suppose that’s what happens when you’re a block away from the ocean.

Anywho, today was fun 😊 I went up to Torrey State Park to do some hiking – it was quite the trek to get there – 30min ride into Old Town San Diego (I know this route like the back of my hand now), perfect connection time for a 60min ride north of the city to UCSD. The ride was nice though – went through some neat areas that were like Westboro and/or slightly nicer than Westboro. Also went through a lot of high-class neighbourhoods – it’s interesting to see the houses and just the differences between neighbourhoods.

Near UCSD I had to switch to yet another bus... so 1h50min later I made it to the Park haha. Well worth the trip, like I said. Oh, another fun note – you’re not allowed to eat on the bus, and I thought I missed my last bus so I took out an apple... three bites in, bus shows up. Now, San Diego has some great apples let me tell you, so I was NOT throwing that out... so I put it in my purse. I’m so classy.

Anyway, I didn’t waste any time once I got to the Park, I headed straight up the giant hill pathway to have the best view up and down the coastline. Holy crap that was a long walk... and it was hot. I had put sunscreen on but again apparently that was not enough... my chest is still a nice brilliant red, sigh. My arms are pink, but at least they don’t burn yet.

Anywho – back to the walk! The views were amazing – I went to one big overlook point, wandered along some garden area, and did a trail that went through a bunch of the different foliage/trees/cactus lol and provided some more great views of the ocean and beach down below. It was fairly high up!

Along the pathway, there were some neat sand formations too – one was called Lion’s Paw... not quite sure why haha, but it looked cool. I also made friends with a squirrel who came right up to my feet, and watched some lizard do push-ups. Yep. He was pumping up and down on a rock... crazy lil’ boy.

After that trail, I slowly wandered back down towards the beach. The sand wasn’t white and fluffy, but was nice – it dark but super soft, felt great (and slightly spongy) on the toes. I went for a walk in the ocean; the water was crystal clear and refreshing... but super cold haha. I was wondering why people weren’t swimming and I guess that’s the reason haha.

Anyway, I walked a good 30min down the beach then came back. There were a ton of seagulls, but oddly enough they weren’t bugging people... they were standing in the water, having their own feet get wet as the tide rolled in lol. How cute.

Long bus trek home I almost fell asleep, but managed to hang on haha. Now I’m trying to figure out what I want to see tomorrow... last day in San Diego 😞

Here are some more drunk comments from while I’ve been sitting here typing... warning for language haha:

“Why are New Yorkers afraid to die? Because Jersey’s at the end of the tunnel”

“I’m going to pound this apple juice like a motha’ fuckerrrrrrrrrr.”

(guy singing): “Aye. Aye. Aye. Get off my arse, you pretty young thing. After I fuck her, she’ll get up and sing.”

(2min later, same guy) “I got stones in my bladder, but I ain’t dead yet. Got a crack in voice, and one in my arse.”

(gay guys talking) “Watch out when you go out, ok? There’s nothing but trust fund gays out here”

“I got like, 5 grams on me. My roomie, like, works in a dispensary. It’s, like... no big deal you hear. But you didn’t hear it from me.”

Oh Ocean Beach, you are quite something at night.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0536s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb