Nixon's Library and Ramona Canyon


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » San Diego
March 26th 2009
Published: March 26th 2009
Edit Blog Post

GardensGardensGardens

Th gardens around the Nixon Library were awesome. I may have to go back during rose blooming season.
The day Bev left I had an appointment to get my car cover modified, unfortunately the guy I was to see had been called away in emergency. So since I was close I decided to go to the Richard Nixon Library. The Library is located on the property where Nixon’s boyhood home stands. The house has been renovated but the original furniture is still in place. The grounds are absolutely beautiful, rose gardens throughout; I was there a couple of weeks early because the roses were all in bud. I may have to go back to see them in bloom, I’ll bet the smell is divine.

I moved to Ramona Canyon which is about 35 miles north east of San Diego on March 14th.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

CumquatCumquat
Cumquat

As you have no doubt realized I am not the great horticulturalist! I did recognize this tree however, and one of the guides told me this area used to be an orange grove. Whether I have spelled the name correctly is another thing!!!
BirthplaceBirthplace
Birthplace

This home was actually built by Richard Nixon's father.
California PoppyCalifornia Poppy
California Poppy

The poppy grows wild at this time of the year all over this part of the state.
LibraryLibrary
Library

This is the view of the Library from the birthplace. The area of the gardens on the left hand side were donated by Bob and Delores Hope
Ramona CanyonRamona Canyon
Ramona Canyon

The Ramona Canyon RV Resort was a great place for birdwatching. This is an Anna's Hummingbird, there were a lot of them around.
FlowersFlowers
Flowers

I think these flowers grew during the winter and early spring in South Africa. I always loved them so it made me quite homesick.
Mountain ViewMountain View
Mountain View

The early morning clouds lie in the valley. I was standing in brilliant sunshine when I took this photo


Tot: 0.269s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 16; qc: 73; dbt: 0.0901s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb