Go Chargers!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » San Diego
September 7th 2008
Published: September 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

SD TrolleySD TrolleySD Trolley

even they get in on the act
Above: The national anthem

Well I had to didn't I?

Near the top of my To Do List was 'see a Chargers game'. K thought I should wait until we found some local people we could go with, but with only 8 home games a season I wasn't so sure. There was nothing planned this weekend, the opening weekend of the season, so I thought I should go for it.

One of the tips for getting good seats - especially if you only want one ticket - is to show up at the stadium box office a few days beforehand, when they will be prepared to release seats kept back for their own purposes. I don't know if that happened in my case, but I got a seat on the 50-yard line. Not close to it, ON it! Ok, it was about 3 miles from the play in the 'nosebleed seats', but an impressive view. It was also shaded from the sun for most of the game, which made it very pleasant as it was around 90 degrees (32C) in the sun.

The Game

It took a while to get going, but ended with the visiting
The view from my seatThe view from my seatThe view from my seat

Good, eh? The regulars brought binoculars...
team (Carolina Panthers) winning on the last play. The Chargers were behind for most of the game but took the lead with 2 minutes to go, so they should have been able to hold on. Lots of subdued fans afterwards, but a great game for the neutral - as the reporters would say.

I got there quite early because I wasn't sure how long it would take and wanted to wander around the stadium. You need a lot of cash to enjoy American Football, what with replica shirts at $145 and food and drink at a minimum of $5 an item. I did get a free fridge magnet though with the fixtures on, courtesy of Bud Light. Oh, and a bottle of water by signing up to be a designated driver!

The journey home took over 2 hours, most of that standing in line (aka queueing) for the trolley (tram), which then broke down halfway back to town. Just like home, standing room only in a boiling hot, crowded train...

So, one down, one to go on my sports agenda. K has agreed that we should go and see the Padres play baseball on Friday. Only neither of us will have much idea what's happening!

Advertisement



11th September 2008

Surely baseball's just like rounders. Though I assume they don't play it with an old table leg like we used to. Glad to find you're writing here - I look forward to reading more about your adventures over there.
15th September 2008

Chargers
The name of the team should have given you a clue about the cost!!! View looks like view from the United road paddock (not). Looks like United might be after a new sponsor with troubles at AIG - perhaps Lehmann Bros???

Tot: 0.169s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0693s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb