Less then 24hrs...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » San Diego
August 7th 2008
Published: August 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

In less than 24 hrs I will be on a plane to Germany. Wow, do I still have a lot to do! I am writing this now while listening to the washing machine which has yet another load of laundry in it amidst the disaster that is my room, which kind of looks like it exploded. I still haven't quite figured out how I am supposed to fit 5 months worth of crap into a suitcase and a backpack, but its getting closer.

Most of the important things are taken care of already. I've said goodbye to my horse (lets face it, he's the one I'm going to miss the most, sorry guys!), cleaned my moms car, and shoved my face full of all the food I won't get for the next five months (think IHOP, sushi, Robertos, Taco Bell, ect.). I have all my important paperwork...somewhere...and I have a shuttle taking me to the airport at 9 in the morning.

For those of you who I didn't get to see before I left, and even those who I did see, I will miss you lots and can wait to share many wild stories and crazy adventures with you! Stay in touch, because when I'm half way around the world in a country where I don't speak the language I will want to be reminded of In-N-Out burgers, the beach and cherry blossoms, to say the least! So feel free to comment, e-mail, and communicate in anyway you want because I will want to hear it all.




So its now today, obvious, I know, and I'm sitting in the commuter terminal at the airport, waiting to take my flight to LA. I figured I might as well write now, since I have free internet (who knows when that will happen again!) and I'm bored.

I must say, for the start of a long travel day, the morning has gone pretty well. I got picked up in a black sedan to come to the airport (it was supposed to be a shuttle, but they sent a car, which was awesome). I had a nice conversation about Africa with my Ethiopian driver, who had also lived in Sudan. He assured me that Arabic is actually quite easy to learn, especially compared to English, so we'll see if I come back fluent 😊.

Once I got to the airport, I managed to make a new friend, which I always love doing (hi Jesse, have fun in NM!). I seem to be really good at meeting cool new people right before I leave a place.

Well, enough babbling for now. Peace out for now!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0491s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb