Back to Work


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » San Diego » Oceanside
April 21st 2010
Published: April 21st 2010
Edit Blog Post

April 21, 2010

So I've been back to work for a couple days now, but mainly have been catching up on paperwork. Today I get to get back into the lab and run some reactions. 😊 I've included some pictures of the company I work at in Oceanside. Oceanside is about 30 miles north of where I live in San Diego. I leave for work at 6:30 am to beat the traffic. I've also included a picture of my desk. When I'm not in lab, I'm there reading papers and writing reports. As you can see I've made my area very bright and cheery. When I worked for a different company I had a bigger office and I decorated the entire wall with postcards from all the places I've been. After a while, friends starting giving me postcards from places they had traveled to for my collection. So I have cards from India, Hong Kong, Vietnam, Scotland, Italy, Peru, Argentina, etc. Sometimes I would come back to my office and different people would just be sitting in there relaxing and looking at all the beautiful pictures.

Oceanside is a quiet town near the Ocean (I guess the name kind of gives that part away!). There are some nice little restaurants near work that are close to the beach. Yesterday my friends, Sheena and Annie, and I went to a little coffee shop near the Oceanside Pier that makes healthy and delicious sandwiches. We sat in outside in the sunshine because the day was so nice. After lunch we walked down to the pier to look at the Ocean. When the weather gets warmer we are going to boogie board (it's sort of like surfing but you lay on the surf board without standing up). Sheena and I are going to take some swimming classes next month to improve our swimming skills. We can both swim, but we aren't as confident in the ocean as we would like to be. Sometimes the waves get really big.

After work I met my friend, Dave for dinner at a little Mexican place. He looks very serious in this picture, but he is actually a very fun and happy guy. Dave and I are going to be taking scuba dive classes together after I finish the marathon. . .so towards the end of June. My friend, Xiaomei and another friend are also going to join us. There are so many beautiful areas to dive near where we live. . .all kinds of bright colorful fish, seals, sharks, turtles, ship wrecks, etc. I'm a little nervous, but also very excited to be able to take this class.

Okay. . .I need to get ready for work. I'll write more to you all later. 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



Tot: 0.208s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0345s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb