Beaches and Supercars


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » San Diego » La Jolla
October 2nd 2009
Published: November 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

We spent the weekend pretty chilled out which was cool. Good to relax a bit. After a sleep in Ben and I drove down across town to one of the more amazing locations in San Diego - Coronado. If you have heard of this place, it is probably because of the Hotel Del Coronado - a very old, very large and very incredible hotel that sits right on the Coronado beach. Ben and I decided to lap up a bit of this glorious beach (I swam and he fell asleep) before checking out the hotel and grabbing some lunch. The water wasn’t bad. The sand was weird...almost like a dust and so in the shallow water it was very kinda dirty. Other than that though, was so good to get in the water. I miss the beach. If you have the coin (alot of coin!) gee it would be cool to retire there. What a way of life. Anyway that night we went to another place along the coast called La Jolla. Ok I take back the statement about retiring in Coronado...La Jolla (pronounced La Hoya) is where im going. This place is apparently like one of the most expensive places in the US to buy a house. I don’t think you could buy in for under 4mil. Ridiculous. In the first hour I saw 3 super cars that I don’t recon you can even get in Aus. (the new Viper, McLaren SLR, Koenigsegg). We met up with an Aus girl that has flown over for the orientation week with Ben and after a stroll along the beach front which was more like the great ocean road cliffs; we found a great little pub to sit down for some dinner. They had a thing where you could try all different types of beers in big shot glasses which were awesome and I had a steak which was even better. Couple that with the beautiful weather and the whole night was just serene.

My last day in SD was even more chilled out. Ben decided to cook dinner for his work mates so we went to Costco and bought fish and pumpkin pie. A few beers, a great meal and trying to eat pumpkin for desert (I dunno...was sweet...but still a bit iffy) it was fun but we were both buggered and passed out early. Looking back on the last 4 days...gee I loved SD. Such an amazing and beautiful city. Thanks Ben for having me - one day ill be back for sure.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.14s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0478s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb