Days 25, 26, and 27 July 30, 31, and August 1/14 Ian patiently waiting in Palm Springs, California 5550 kms


Advertisement
Published: August 1st 2014
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


So I have been sitting in Palm Springs by myself for the last 3 days. I know what you're thinking: "What could there be to do in Palm Springs in the middle of July in the heat". Funny you should ask. First of all the golf courses are all open and they are cheap!!!! I have played at least 27 holes everyday. The most I have paid was 25.00 and that came with 2 beers and a bottle of water. Since I was riding the motorcycle to and from the golf course I had to trade down to a couple of bottles of Gatorade (and a bottle of water.) Now it's time to ask, "How did you get the golf clubs to and from the golf course on your motorcycle?" I am glad you asked. DUCT TAPE !!!!! I had actually thought of this problem before I left home and packed a few bungee cords as well as a couple of tie down straps........That all sucked. So out came the trusted duct tape and it works like a charm. They don't move an inch. I also learned that you can get three rounds of golf from one roll of tape. Next there are movie theatres all over the place. These are also very cheap. For five dollars you can watch all the movies you want (at least know one asked me to leave). Still living by the ideals of "ask for forgiveness not permission". Now getting to and from the theatres was a little different. I took the bus. Yes, girls, the LC "loser cruiser" Quite an experience and mostly not a good one. I have gone shopping for groceries only because it was air conditioned. I have had coffee with a few old guys I golfed with. Stopped at Trader Joe's just because they are cheap and I couldn't pass a good deal.

So these are the actual physical things I have been doing. BUT!!!! I have also had time to make some quite astounding observations. I have been enlightened. My biggest observation came while riding the bus. I have had a chance to understand the 2nd amendment of the United States. The right to bear arms. You see I really did not agree with the right to bear arms until I rode the bus the other day. The bus was quite busy and it was hot and crowded. At one of the stops two young gentlemen boarded the bus. One of the gentlemen was carrying a large radio, playing what I believe is called "gangster rap". As they entered the bus, the over-bearing bus driver told them to turn off their music. The young man did this and carried on to the back of the bus. Once seated the music was once again turned on. I found it quite pleasant but not everyone felt as I did. A few aggressive passengers tried to start a conflict with the 2 young gentlemen. After a couple of minutes of verbal conflict, the man with the music playing gestured with his thumb and index finger that this could be taken care of in a different manner. At that point everything calmed down and we were all left to enjoy their music. If not for the possible gesture of being able to defend themselves with a firearm, these two may have had to give in to the intolerance of others around them. Bravo.
Also, did you know that wearing a helmet in the Vietnam war was optional? I did not know that until I was told by an old timer that thegovernment has no right to make us wear a motorcycle helmet because of that fact. I have also discovered sand wasps, they breed in the sand bunkers down here ..... it just happens to be breeding time.I have discovered long legged bunnies that live in the bushes to stay away from the coyotes that are everywhere. I discovered that when you play golf at first light the bunnies think you're a coyote and they jump out and scare the hell out of you and the coyotes think you are a rabbit and run out to see where you are and scare the hell out of you. I have discovered knats that are relentlessly buzzing in your ears. Still having fun though. Let me know if I should carry on or if this is toooooo much


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



4th August 2014

Golf
Ok Ian. I knew you would be golfing, but I only have one question. Where did you get the clubs? Thought you would rent them. Funniest picture to date. Biker with clubs. So funny. Soooo where to now. Love the blogs. Yes more little brother. Xo

Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0373s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb