Sequoia National Park


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Oakhurst
July 19th 2010
Published: July 20th 2010
Edit Blog Post

July 19 2010
First, just a few more things about Santa Monica. I was so tired when I wrote last night’s blog that I totally forgot a few things.

There were many street performers, of course. I did not take pix because they expected money if you did, so no pictures. There was Cat Woman, Darth Vader, a Hippy, Dippy woman, magician, break dancer. You get the picture. As we walked to the pier I saw two very normal looking guys sitting at a card table (in the sand) with folding chairs. There was a sign on the table reading “Free Advice”. On the way back they were still there, so I asked them if anyone ever asked for advice. They told me it was a good day. Both ways I never saw anyone asking. Needless to say, I did not ask for any advice. There was also the obligatory Grandpa in a speedo.

We boondocked last night at a Carl's Jr. on I-5. We were on the road again at 6:30 in the morning and drove through Sierra Nevada Mountains, fields of oil, grapes, beans, citrus groves and olive groves on the way to Sequoia National Park. It is so beautiful there. Glad we decided to make it part of the trip. I took lots of pictures.

I set the Garmin for Yosemite on the way out of Sequoia. It took us through some of the worst mountain driving ever. Lots of small two lane back roads that were very twisty with hairpin turns, switch backs, etc. with no let up. Ange was getting very tired and I am not a good mountain driving passenger, but I tried to keep it to myself so I didin’t frustrate Ange any further than he already was. We finally stopped at a small resort and got directions to the closest town. As it turned out we were very close to Yosemite. The gal told me that the GPS software does not work very well in the mountains. No kidding! We are now at a Comfort Inn in Oakhurst, CA. We decided we needed a good shower and a good nights sleep before we go into Yosemite tomorrow.

I think when we are done here I’ll let Ange use the old paper map to get us out of here and on the road to Yellowstone. Enjoy the pictures of Sequoia N. P.



Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



20th July 2010

Ginornous Tree
Love the pic with Dad nexr to the ginornous tree - a redwood???
20th July 2010

Loved the story of Santa Monica and the pictures are absolutely beautiful.

Tot: 0.233s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0495s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb