Notes from Maacama


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Napa Valley
September 20th 2006
Published: September 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I made a good choice.

I was the last to arrive due to bus complications but I walked into a room full of smiling faces. These are wonderful people. I instantly felt at home.

My days consist of a combo-platter of pleasantries. I begin my day with an hour of movement and meditation followed by a fruit filled breakfast. We eat well here. Its good to be away from the familiar. It's given me space to concentrate of the plethora of lifes skills being taught. I am soaking it all up. Classes have been inspiring and have provoked many dormant feelings within me to awaken and develop. There is time for work and time for play. My arms are exhuasted from using a Sawz-All to rip apart old cars, but laughing at our halarious Balderdash definitions distracts me from my hypochondric tendencies. Tori would be proud.

I've been so focused on my time here in California that Central America seemed distant. We leave tommorrow. I cannot wait. My intentions for the coming year have been ceremoniously set forth and I soon will join 14 other terribly excited students on a 12 am flight to Guatemala!

I am having the time of my life. Thanks Mom and Dad.

With love,
Emma


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



20th September 2006

;)
sweet.
21st September 2006

Thanks!
Hey Emma.. thanks for hangin out with me before you left! I had fun playing hide and seek and soccer and basketball. -Wyatt Emma, Safe travels... looking forward to following your journey! ~diane
22nd September 2006

tough travel
We are at faculty meeting and people asked about you and your blog, so I checked it out and found about about your suffering in Sonoma. Yes, wine country can be rough and the hot tubs up there arent always at just the right temperature. We all empathize with your plight. Glad to hear you are enjoying your adventures. Best from all at Compass, Rick
1st December 2006

Is That Hanna McIlvaine in your job site pic
Hanna has said she will stay friends with members of her group for life. Were you in her group? No matter, we will get a chance to meet at the Rites of Passage Ceremony in February. best regards, Phelps McIlvaine

Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0527s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb