Sorry this is so late!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Napa Valley
August 19th 2008
Published: August 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

As you might expect, blogging was not as smooth as I though it would be, and this is the first time I have managed to update, although I am pleased to say it hasn't cost me anything.

Two weeks has flown by, briefly comprising:-

Las Vegas - which is fabulous, hot hot hot though, so we took advantage of the enormous fake beach at the Mandelay Bay. The Venetian, our second stop, was more fabulous still however; ate a meal in a facsimile of St Marks square (with beautiful painted sky a la Canaletto) which left me wondering if I still need to see the real thing (only briefly)

Grand Canyon - a helicopter ride out there - in a thunderstorm, white knuckles all the way for Cliff and slightly for me too - to stay on a "working" ranch. We didn't get the TeePee, for which I was grateful given the temperature, but we stayed in a log cabin, and sang round a camp fire. The boys loved it, the ride out (James - "Can you do any stunts?") and the ranch, which was really very nice and not at all as cheesy as I though it would be.

Yellowstone - I think we all loved this best so far, wonderful scenery and lots of spooky volcanic activity, including the infamous Old Faithful ( which is not as faithful as all that, but we did see it erupt). We saw buffalo everywhere (including, rather uncomfortabley, right on our cabin doorstep) and elk, but no moose or bear. Very 1950's style lodge, full of fresh faced students, and lovely park rangers in Yogi bear style hats.

Death Valley - The bit I was most nervous about, but needless to say far from being the only loonies heading out there in 113 degree heat, it was bustling with activity (mostly people running from one air conditioned spot to the next). Also very beautiful, it left me feeling that in summer it deserved to be a bit more deserted really.

Yosemite - The most breath taking scenery, amazing cliffs rising on all sides and beautiful shaded meadows in the valleys, but ABSOLUTELY HEAVING!! Imagine Matlock bath on a bank holiday, times 10. We did however see a real bear in the woods - what it was doing I can't really say.

Napa Valley - where we are now, which did not get a great write up in the guide book, but which is really very pretty and after Yosemite, delightfully peaceful. We have even managed to sneak in a glass of fizz at Mumm's this afternoon.

Apologies for the rushed blog - I will try and drop some photos in later on - I hear the weather is not so great, so I will try and put some sunny ones in.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0336s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb