Off to LA


Advertisement
Published: June 2nd 2013
Edit Blog Post

We actually get going on time. Avoiding the crazy traffic situation that is LA freeways. We are just about to The Grove. I get a migraine. Come on! We head to Umami Burger. We have a plan! Crazy good. About half way thru lunch the migraine takes over. Ed needs a shirt to wear out tonight, so I go to the truck to lie down and he goes shopping. You would not believe how noisy a parking garage is. Regardless I have a rest and start to feel better. Ed shops and wanders around for a few hours and then we head to the hotel. We need to be fresh for the TMZ Tour!!!! Ed is so hoping that Shevonne will be our guide. No such luck. The tour is great. We see absolutely no one famous. Not a single star. Not even close! Maybe 7pm is too early for the stars. It was still a lot of fun. Then we go to Animal for dinner. My first time going to an unmarked restaurant. We must be cool now. Super amazing dinner. But loud! Haha. We are getting old. Ed enjoys the loud, but really only hears about ¼ of what I say. Probably makes for a better night out, possibly a better marriage.



We are only staying one night. Which is good because the valet is $38!!! Hello Hollywood! The next day we decide to go with the beach. It is a hot day. Santa Monica is always a hit in my book – great restaurants, lots of shopping, the pier, and tonnes of people watching. We spend most of the day at the beach. Ed is in and out of the ocean. He is wet and sweaty. Wiping himself off on his tshirt. The waves were huge. After the beach we walk around the pier and get ice cream. We are standing at the edge by the railing and a seagull swipes the top of Ed’s cone! He was really fast (the bird). We do a bit of shopping, and go Japanese for dinner. Very tasty. Good day. Until Ed, Mr. wet and sweaty tshirt, decides to give me some fashion advice. I am wearing white pants and a coloured halter. Which I think looks cute. Nope. I haven’t seen Mr. TShirt in anything except for shorts. And today, a sweaty, not even close to clean tshirt. And he is giving me a makeover? Needless to say, now I have to go shopping. Apparently my pants, aside from being too wide, are dull. And my tops aren’t good colours, not nice colours like are in the stores. Mr TShirt recognizes the hypocrisy but still keeps expressing an opinion.



The drive home was long. Took about an extra half hour or so to get out of LA, so it was about a three hour drive in crazy traffic. I am navigating. Perfectly I might add. I also give other helpful tips, like ‘you are now 10 miles over the speed limit’, ‘watch that guy on the left’, and a number of other supportive comments meant to make the drive safer. Yeah, he sort of had the same reaction. Not impressed. I know it seems like a grown man doesn’t need to be told how to drive. I know that, I am trying to help and calm my nerves. Help him not get another speeding ticket. Like what happened at Christmas on the way to Dryden. Where there was a speeding ticket, and the threat of a bunch of other point deductions for things like an unsigned registration. Granted that can happen to any of us. Even happened to me once. But then you have to pay the ticket. Rumour is if you don’t, you could end up in real trouble, like with a suspended licence. I don’t know for sure, I’m just saying there could be troubles. So I am giving tips, trying to be helpful. Turns out it was not interpreted as help. At some point there are sharp words and tears. You can guess which belongs to whom. That was one long and quiet drive, at least for the last two hours. So we had a slight 11pm detour thru In and Out Burger. That place is a miracle worker. Turns out a burger and a strawberry shake can restore our relationship.

Advertisement



2nd June 2013

Off to LA
It makes me laugh out loud. I tend to think that you deserve a medal but then I realize it is what makes your marriage work!

Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0328s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb