Arriving in LA!


Advertisement
Published: July 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

(Written 3 months retospectivly, but bored of doing revision!)

OK, so 11 hours after taking off from NZ we land 9 hours before we took off, confused? I was.
Fortunatly there was not much in the way of Jet lag cause the time difference is only a few hours, just the day before...

Got screwed by the car hire people cause they then had to charge us extra insurance, fortunatly the bank increased my credit limit before we left England!!!
But cause I "gave evils" to the woman at the car hire desk, she gave me the next car up, which was a "miniSUV"... Mini my arse, this thing was like a tank, only smaller than the other tanks parked in the garage. Honestly, if i'd driven it through Hampstead I would have fitted right in and got my tires slashed by "activists".
They were amazed that we were considering driving the 200 odd miles to Vegas in an "economy" car (which was a big Crysler Cruiser thing about the same size as we have in the UK for driving around the Scottish Highlands) that she insited we have the bigger one...

The roads are big, flat and made for easy driving. the petrol guage seemed to diminish fairly quickly, and I was shocked when I saw how much petrol cost! £1.20/L, then realised it was for a gallon, so worked out at about 25p/L... Hmm I wonder where all the worlds oil resources are going??

So we set off toward the nearest food outlet, and had a McDonalds picnic (you have to, you're in America!!!!) in our big car, I had a double quater pounder (or half pounder as we call them) with cheese. Amy had a normal 1/4lb with cheese, but was conserened I had bought her the wrong size, when her fries and drink looked like they would have fed a small african nation. Honest guv, it was a medium.

Arrived at our Motel in Manhattan Beach, it had a pool and hot tub and was run by a little indian man, just like Apu from the Simpsons.

We then set off to find the main street and a "bar". Within minutes of getting to "Downtown Manhattan Beach" we had stumbled across the "Manhattan Beach Brewing Co.", so popped in for some rather nice microbrewed beer. I think I had 3 and Amy had 2. They ID'd us cause we looked under 80.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0584s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb