City of Angels


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Los Angeles
September 26th 2010
Published: December 23rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Day 1:
A family of 3,myself and my 2 teenaged kids,travelling from India to US for the first time landed in Chicago to fly onward to Los Angeles.The immigration officer gave us the first jittery fear of our life stating that the transit visa that was stamped in our passport does not allow us to step out of the airport.Arguing for the right being my nature did not deter me to keep my big mouth shut in a new country and i spoke with conviction that I am allowed to stay in your country for 29 continuous days as per the class of visa granted to me and I was not even staying that long;he did not expect me to stay in the airport for 29 days.He would hear none of my arguements and took me straight to his senior officer who was a very very polite person.He took a brief interview and requested us to wait for sometime till he processes our case;the waiting was long but fruitful.All proedures cleared and whew we flew to LA.
From the airport we took a taxi and headed to our relative's house;the taxi fare seemed to rise through the roof of the taxi and my conversion from dollar to rupee thing kept my mind busy in calculations and my blood pressure going high with every rise in dollar = 45 bucks.It took almost 100$=4500 rs.whew this was even more that airfare for inland travel in our country.
Sine the travel was a long journey our relatives told us to relax and rest and we did just that to regain our lost energy.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



5th January 2011

thank you for your comment on my blog, it was difficult to leave my career but Ive seen so much since. I hope the rest of your visit to my country is much better than your initial treatment in chicago. have a nice time in California!

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0428s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb