Getting Ready


Advertisement
Published: March 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Packing Again



So, it's been almost four months in this tiny room in Van Nuys - just me and my dog, my 3 roommates and the other two beasties roaming around. Rented the house, quit the job and now it's time to pack up. I think getting ready for an extended trip may in fact be much like childbirth - I do not remember the pain of packing up my entire household - only the amazing trip I had.

I look forward to again re-living the beauty of waking up and not know what the day will bring. Normally it's up at 7am, at work by 9:30am and the constant toll of the drudgery eating away at my soul as I answer phones and doodle during meetings. No - I'm looking forward to wandering the ruins of Syria, relaxing on the beaches of Greece, eating pasta in Italy - all the things you normally do.

I admit to having flashbacks of doing laundry in a bucket, bed bugs, crazy bus rides and bad movies - but all that is in the past - and the future. The countdown has begun...April 8th we're off. I say "we" because I've inspired my boyfriend Mark that everyone needs 6 months to enjoy the world and get to know themselves again.

So now it's back to packing. My dog, Pogo, is snoring on my bed - boxes fill every cranny, my pack has been taken down from the furthest reaches of the closet, cleaned up and ready to go again. Maybe I should name her. My trusty black pack, so perfect in size and stature. Beaten and worn but looking forward to getting some more dust on her. Maddie. Her name is Maddie.

Off to more packing....

-A



Advertisement



7th March 2008

wanderlust
I am jealous and excited. Let my wanderlust live vicariously through your adventures! xoxo

Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0722s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb