Fini


Advertisement
Published: August 6th 2005
Edit Blog Post

The Hollywood HillsThe Hollywood HillsThe Hollywood Hills

Here's me practicing my best fake smile with two thumbs up (with the Hollywood sign behind me). Considered an art form in L.A. the fake smile with double thumbs up gained prominence back in the late 1800's when the first meeting between a producer and an agent took place.
Well thats that....
My courses are over now (A's all around). We had the a final end of summer BBQ last night out front of the Lucas building. It's been a wild ride but now its time to hit the streets of the real world and try to make an honest living, and if that doesn't work well...there's always the circus.
Thanks for reading, stay tuned for the next blog, where will Evan end up next? will it be Cairo? Sydney? Yokohama? Moscow?...Toronto? Only time (and big wads of cash) will tell. One thing is for sure, L.A. has been conquered. World bring on your worst (as long as there are no spiders). And now what you've all been waiting for...shameless, self-promoting pictures.

good tidings to all,

- Evan B. Aagaard signing off




Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

This is where capt. Kirk fought the klingons in ep. 17!This is where capt. Kirk fought the klingons in ep. 17!
This is where capt. Kirk fought the klingons in ep. 17!

These were taken during a hike up the Hollywood hills. This path went up the side of a mountain...which was attached to another mountain. Incidentally its a splendid place to dispose of a corpse....
Ooh I can see the smog from hereOoh I can see the smog from here
Ooh I can see the smog from here

Of course we just had to choose the most polluted day to go site seeing. The air gets so thick here you can actually cut it out it chunks and blend it with ice. In fact drinking a Smog Smoothy is considered a rite of passage for becoming a true Los Angelian. With a little slice of lemon its not too bad, sort of a mix between skunk and burnt death.
Rebel without a tripodRebel without a tripod
Rebel without a tripod

This is that observatory where they shot the last scene in Rebel without a Cause. They say the ghost of James Dean haunts the place at night, we couldn't go in because it was being renovated but that didn't stop me from taking hazy pictures from many miles away! so you see I'm a disenchanted rebel too. James Dean would have been proud
Water.....must find...water....Water.....must find...water....
Water.....must find...water....

My travel companions for the day. sadly when we became lost and stranded on the mountain we were forced to eat the girl on the left to stay alive.... Luckily someone remembered to bring a bottle of hickory sauce. It was good times.
hey these guys...these are the guyshey these guys...these are the guys
hey these guys...these are the guys

My two T.A.'s from my Cinematography class. Henry (front) acted in almost everyone's film projects because well...he was just so damn funny and also its tough to find actors at a moments notice. After the BBQ he informed me that I had receieved an A in the course (as I casually slipped him a $20).
Ok everyone say "expose for key!"Ok everyone say "expose for key!"
Ok everyone say "expose for key!"

haha just a little cinematography joke...you see when you expose for key you- ahh nevermind. This is my entire Cinematography Class after our final screening. See if you can pick out my handsome mug. One day people might look at this photo and say, "hey thats the guy...thats the guy that farted during this photo...what a jackass."
mmm free BBQmmm free BBQ
mmm free BBQ

Here we are, a bunch of wannabe filmmaker's. 140 of us in total, I wonder how many of us will actually make it in this business and how many of us will be eaten by sharks while swimming in the ocean....at least 2 of us statistically speaking.
a rare moment of trutha rare moment of truth
a rare moment of truth

This is Andrew from North Carolina. I shot one of his films for him. Here he is eating a hamburger with the sort of look that you get when someone screams your name and then takes your picture at the exact moment you look up. Pure genius
Give me zee microfilm!Give me zee microfilm!
Give me zee microfilm!

Here's a picture of Jay, my roommate from Montreal moments before he was arrested on suspicion of looking suspicious...if you ask me he was asking for it.
One day I'll own this town!One day I'll own this town!
One day I'll own this town!

Well I guess this is so long L.A. Oh come on don't be like that! You knew I'd have to leave eventually....It's not you, it's me. no there's not some other city...honest. I think your a super city I really do, and your going to make some other Canadian really happy one day, come on, don't cry. Jeez I hate this....some cities can be so clingy.
You call that a city? bah!You call that a city? bah!
You call that a city? bah!

Yah L.A. has its sights and sounds. Its big and it sprawls in just about every direction. They make movies here by the gallon and people have more money than they can shake a stick at but at the end of the day you know what? The palm trees will always be there....This has been a moment of wisdom from your blog author Evan Aagaard, thank you for participating


Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.033s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb