Universal!


Advertisement
Published: October 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

My IdolMy IdolMy Idol

And I don't mean Nige!
After we got ourselves ready, we drove the 4 minutes down the road and into Universal Studio's. Luckily we had purchased line passes before our trip so was able to skip any queues at shows or rides. First up was the House of Horrors, Katie refused to enter so waited outside for us. The version at Blackpool is a lot better but Katie wouldn't take my word for it!

We took the studio tour round the film sets, and although they were filming Desperate Housewives and Heroes we didn't spot any celebs.

We met Spongebob Squarepants (my hero!) and shrek next and had our pictures taken! Next up - the Jurassic park water ride - I reassured Katie that when I was here last time, it really wasn't that bad, How wrong was I, It was a lot steeper then I remember! Nevertheless we continued onto the Mummy ride, Katie sat in the middle, and I'm not quite sure how we survived through her screams, It wasn't so much her screams, it was us trying to catch our breath through laughing at her screams, however she did say afterwards that she enjoyed it!

We caught the shows that
Tokyo DriftTokyo DriftTokyo Drift

Showing how they filmed Tokyo Drift
were also on - Terminator, Waterworld and Shrek 4D - This was brillilant, better then any 4D show I have seen before, well worth seeing if you are ever in Hollywood! We left shortly before six and did a bit of shopping just outside the gates then made our way to our hotel in santa Monica. We are yet to find the official end point of route 66, so have decided we will find this tomorrow...... hopefully!

We chucked our stuff in, quickly got changed and went out to find a bar that would be showing the football (England V Estonia) tomorrow, it wasn't long before we found one - Ye Olde Kings Head on Santa Monica Boulevard.

Yet again we had a few drinks and a meal before retiring for our beauty sleep before rising at 5am, to get ready for the football.... 7am kick off out here.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Desperate HousewivesDesperate Housewives
Desperate Housewives

On set, and filming, didn't see anyone though..
War of the WorldsWar of the Worlds
War of the Worlds

Set from war of the worlds
DietingDieting
Dieting

I've lost weight since I've been here!
Are we there yet....Are we there yet....
Are we there yet....

Fiona, me and my twin!
Universal studiosUniversal studios
Universal studios

Katie at the globe outside the Studio's
My TattooMy Tattoo
My Tattoo

As requested by a few of you. Its a 5 pointed Nautical star meaning: One Love, One Life, One Destiny, One Heart and One Soul. Its on the back of my neck under my hair - which may seem strange, but I know its there - If you know what I mean.


13th October 2007

end of the road
Cool tattoo! You will find the end of Rt 66 beyond Hollywood where Santa Monica Boulevard ends and intersects with Ocean Boulevard. Nearby, in Palisades Park, is a plaque marking the dedication of "the Main Street of America" to Will Rogers in 1952. I've enjoyed "travelling" with you! Deanna
13th October 2007

Hi Guys !!
Hope you are all ok, regretting not meeting you out there now, very jealous !! Glad you met your idol leanne spongebob not shrek ! and Kt got close to hers by driving past poshs's ! Like the tattoo, missing you all, see you soon xxx
14th October 2007

Hi All, Can't believe you have fitted so much in, bet you are having the time of your life. How can you possibly come back to the real world, nice tatoo leigh !!! Karen xxx

Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0287s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb