Redondo Beach, CA


Advertisement
Published: June 2nd 2015
Edit Blog Post


On the walk down to the beach
My most recent adventure was to Cali over my college's spring break. Cali has always been somewhere I have wanted to go since I was a little girl dreaming of packing up a Volkswagen beetle and driving across the country for college. While I do have the beetle and attend college its no where near Cali. My mom is a flight attendant so when she said the trip would work over my spring break I jumped at the opportunity.

We arrived in LAX and of course I had to sing a little bit of Miley. We arrived around 1am local time, so we went straight to the hotel ready to start our adventure the next morning. Stepping outside it was warm, and not humid Florida warm, but a wonderful type of heat. Still getting to enjoy the ocean without humidity was wonderful. With the exemption being that the Pacific Ocean is colder. With a smoothie in hand after a stop back at the hotel and a purchase of a towel from the boardwalk, I was right in the water, the cool water was something I was over rather quickly. The overall atmosphere was, well, healthy. So many people were running

Ankle bracelets are a beach tradition for me. I felt perfect with a smoothie and the beach waves
along the beach with strollers, old couples, young women, skate boarders, and there were plenty of dance studios on our walk along with places to get a slightly healthier snack. More people were out walking, or driving tiny smart cars. Walking the distance to the boardwalk didn't seem like a problem because everybody was so intriguing, they overall seemed happier, and this was a wednesday afternoon, not as many vacation travelers. I was sad to have to leave.

Basically most things would have been better than the midwest in April, but something about Cali was unlike the beaches I had been to on the east coast. Also something held on to me even as I departed. We sadly were only there for about 27 hours and of course had to spend time traveling to LAX, and sleeping. The travel bug bit me and I haven't stopped thinking about how to plan a longer, maybe solo, and different trip soon. The outside look of the lifestyle in the area was so captivating, and for the first time in travel I wasn't focused on that evenings plans, or what I was doing, and I actually stopped too look around at the

The road sign with the palm tree faded in the back ground, I just wanted to follow the road up and down the coast… Who knows maybe I will?
workers, at the runners, the old men sitting outside the coffee shop. I believe I finally understand what travel can offer, and my Pinterest boards, search history, books, and conversations can all reflect my thoughts. I'm considering taking a year off after I finish undergraduate school in May, making my mom let me tag along on more trips, really talk travel with my friends and see where we can go.

Twenty-four hours in a city in California has echoed through my mind for a month an a half. What can a longer travel do, who will I discover within myself? What kind of people can I meet? What are different cultures like? I think its time to finally find out. Plus I still fly for free, so if I can start saving just right… Where will this world take me?


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0332s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb