Day 12: Welcome to Los Angeles


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Los Angeles » Hollywood
January 20th 2015
Published: April 18th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Tuesday, 20th January 2015

I'm flying again this morning - to the City of Angels. 90 minutes and 615km later, my United Airlines flight had landed safely at the Los Angeles International (LAX) Airport.

Frankly speaking, the airline wasn't as notorious as described by some online critics. The crew I met were professional and my A320 flight looked brand new. Beverages were served on board during my short hop and I was able to clock some mileage as part of the Star Alliance Rewards Programme.

Arrival at the LAX Terminal 7 was however a mixed bag. On my way out, I was really excited to be greeted by the Universal Studios Airport Store. However, a much needed revamp was probably necessary for the rest of the terminal given that the last major upgrade was done some 30 years ago for the 1984 LA Olympic Games. Looking at the toilets at the arrival lobby - you would probably understand what I mean. They were in a pretty bad shape.

After sorting out my directions, I took a LAX Flyaway Bus that would bring me straight to Hollywood where my hotel was. Forget about the LA Metro as it would be some years before the line gets extended to the airport, eventually. My one night stay at the Hollywood Hotel was fantastic given that this was the cleanest (yet cheapest) place that I had stayed during my entire time in the USA.

I was excited to be staying in Hollywood where transportation links were good. And of course, to be closed to the Carpenters where they were accorded their Star at the Hollywood Walk of Fame in October 1983!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 13; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0518s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb