The west of the USA


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Los Angeles » Hollywood
November 2nd 2008
Published: November 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

LOS ANGELESLOS ANGELESLOS ANGELES

HOLLYWOOD BOULEVARD
My trip to the US started with a long road to get a visa. Yes. I am from Argentina, one of the so many countries that need a visa to visit the USA.
I arrived in Los Angeles on a hot and humid sunday morning. I went straight to the hostel and after the check in I wanted to start discovering the city. Hollywood boulevard was close to the hostel which was good because if you don´t have a car it´s nearly impossible to get around. I took lots of pictures of the famous stars on the sidewalks. Next day I took a tour to have a general idea of the big city and its surroundings: Beverly Hills, houses of celebrities and 2 beaches, Venice Beach and Santa Monica. It was all right, nothing too special for me.
In fact, it was exactly as it was described in the most famous written tour guides, such as Lonely Planet. Los Angeles is big, everything is scattered and you don´t have many chances of seeing everything unless you have a car, which I didn´t. It didn´t matter, because I saw what I needed to see.
I remembered the first lines of "Under the
ME AND FRIENDS IN SAN FRANCISCOME AND FRIENDS IN SAN FRANCISCOME AND FRIENDS IN SAN FRANCISCO

UNFORGETTABLE EVENING IN NORTH BEACH
bridge" by the Red Hot Chili Peppers: "sometimes I feel like I don´t have a partner, sometimes I feel that my only friend is the city I live in, the City of Angels, lonely as I am together we cry".
Next day I took a bus to San Francisco. Things have changed for better.
I love San Francisco. It´s a friendly city, nice atmosphere, plenty to see and do. I met my friend Brando, who invited me for a walk around North Beach where I could have a better idea of the bay, Alcatraz Prison, and some unforgettable views. Brando is an amazing person who loves helping visitors to the city he lives in.
After that I took a bus to Roseburg where my friend John was waiting for me. From then onwards we started a wonderful trip together visiting the coast of Oregon, the forests and the so many falls. Oregon has one of the most amazing landscapes I have ever seen.
My friend´s cabin is in the forest in Glide, a place no one could never forget.
Among the falls we visited: Clear Water Falls, White Horse Falls, Watson Falls, Toketee Falss, and Cavitt Falls.
The ghost town
ME AND VIETNAMESE FOODME AND VIETNAMESE FOODME AND VIETNAMESE FOOD

DELICIOUS VIETNAMESE FOOD
of Shaniko was really amazing, resembling an old western town.
Unfortunatelly we couldn´t see Crater Lake because of heavy clouds which covered it.
On the coast, we went to Florence, Reed Port.
The 2 peaks of Sisters City are awesome.
After that we went to Washington state to visit his friends in the city of Kennewick.
I also visited Twisp, to the north west. Near Twisp there are very interesting places to see: Winthrop, Mazama Town, Harts Pass, covering the Okanoga National Forest and the incredible Slate Peak of 7000 feet.
I will never forget the San Juan islands in Seattle. You can spend the day going from one island to another using the ferry.
The most important aspect of this trip was not only the lovely natural views I could keep in my mind, but also the fact of meeting such wonderful people who made me feel at home, or perhaps more than that.
This is a wonderful country, full of things to see and do.
The road I have taken is really something not to be missed.
The whole trip took me about 20 days.
There is a lot more to see on the west and now I
THE BRIDGETHE BRIDGETHE BRIDGE

ME AND GOLDEN GATE
know that I have new friends there.
So I will go back sometime in the future.






Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

JOHN AND MEJOHN AND ME
JOHN AND ME

HOTEL CLOSE TO CRATER LAKE
ANOTHER BRIDGEANOTHER BRIDGE
ANOTHER BRIDGE

COVERED BRIDGE IN GLIDE
FRIENDS IN KENNEWICKFRIENDS IN KENNEWICK
FRIENDS IN KENNEWICK

LOVELY WILD PEOPLE FROM KENNEWICK
SWEET SHARON SWEET SHARON
SWEET SHARON

SHARON PLAYING THE PIANO
SAN JUAN ISLANDSSAN JUAN ISLANDS
SAN JUAN ISLANDS

MORE THAN 1 BEER
ROCK AND ROLL MUSEUMROCK AND ROLL MUSEUM
ROCK AND ROLL MUSEUM

A PLACE FOR MUSIC
J.J.J.J.
J.J.

J.J. AND HER FAMILY
BRENDABRENDA
BRENDA

BRENDA, HER HUSBAND AND JOHN IN THE FOREST


14th November 2009

Asia
I hope to see your recent Asia trip here. (Suggestion: For "west USA" blog, go to "edit photos" and click "rotate" under the photos which are sitting on their sides)
4th May 2010

Crater lake
It's too bad you didn't get to see Crater Lake. It's a beautiful place.

Tot: 0.136s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0761s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb