Day 13: Downtown Los Angeles


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Los Angeles » Downtown
January 21st 2015
Published: April 20th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Wednesday, 21st January 2015

My brief visit in LA allowed me some time to see the sights in the Downtown District. After my grab & go breakfast at the hotel, I took the red Metro to LA City Hall where free views of the city could be had from the top. This was one of the rare sights in the city where admission fees were waived. The gorgeous City Hall building was itself an attraction. Standing tall against the rest of the structures, this was a visit not to be missed.

I didn't have much difficulty clearing the security. As soon as I produced my Singapore's passport, the officers did not give me a hard-time. Getting to the top involved passing through the grand Tom Bradley Room. Once I was up there, the 360 degrees views of the city was well worth the efforts of getting there from Hollywood. I was thankful that the morning was generally clear and the CBD district was set against a nice backdrop of skyscrapers.

From the City Hall, I walked towards the direction of Angel's Flight and Grand Central Market. These two heritage structures were steep in history even though it was a shame that Angel's Flight was closed indefinitely.

When it was time for me to check out from my hotel, I took a last look at the "HOLLYWOOD" sign before taking a leisure lunch at a Japanese Restaurant.

"LA is a monster. You probably need a week to take in all the sights," remarked a fellow traveller that I met in Hawaii. I took 2 days 1 night to complete my journey even though I'm very much aware that there must be many other sites that I've missed.

That's fine really, as I can always make my way back again in future. Goodbye for now, LA.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.308s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 18; qc: 88; dbt: 0.205s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb