Remembering the Removed


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Lone Pine
July 14th 2007
Published: September 16th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The CemeteryThe CemeteryThe Cemetery

There's a memorial in the old cemetery.
I made the decision to visit Manzanar War Relocation Center while we were out here. We took the scenic route from Las Vegas and crossed through Death Valley. Keep in mind folks, to take careful precautions to ensure your car doesn't overheat if you take this route. It's beautiful though in a scary sort of way even though it's hot.

So we finally got there and saw that there's only one building left standing-the auditorium. It's now the visitors' center. They have exhibits and a movie showing and stuff that's really good. They have a gift shop too. The thing that really hit home with me, though, was when I went into the bathrooms and it showed the type of bathrooms they had to use. I don't think I would have been able to stand it. In my mind, we did to the Japanese what the NAZIs did to the Jews but without the gas chamber and endless work. I mean, seriously, it was awful living conditions.

I've been to Heart Mountain and they have a few buildings standing so that made it easier. As it was, the cemetery touched me. It looked forlorn. Altogether, though, it was a powerful experience for me and Johan, who got to learn a bit about forgotten American history.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.064s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb