Getting Ready to Drive from Coast to Coast


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Kerman
August 10th 2008
Published: August 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hi Everyone,

I'm back. It's been about a year since my last entry. So, here's a quick update. I spent the past year living in Brooklyn, New York serving as an AmeriCorps*VISTA at the Arab American Association of New York as a Development Associate, meaning I did proposal writing and other fundraising stuff (among various random tasks). It was an incredible year. I worked with amazing people, learned so much about development and the workings of a non-profit. I also very much enjoyed living in New York City. There's so much going on there.

Unfortunately, the year quickly came to an end and I'm now getting ready to start graduate school at SIT Graduate Institute in Vermont. I'm quite excited about the program. I'll be getting my master's in Sustainable Development with a focus in Community Development and Social Action. I'll be spending a year in Vermont and then if all goes well, two years in the Peace Corps as part of my degree program. Although I thoroughly enjoyed my year as a VISTA, I can't wait to be a student again.

I don't start school until the beginning of September, but will be leaving California this coming Wednesday. I will be driving from here to Vermont. I've always wanted to take a cross country road trip and now I have the perfect opportunity. I will be driving with a friend from Hamline from California to Minnesota. In Minnesota one of my cousin's will join me and we'll drive from there to New York City together. The plan for both legs of the trip it is to try to camp at National Parks along the way. I can't wait to get going. I'll be keeping journal entries and although I likely won't be able to post them immediately (because of lack of internet connection) I will get them up at my earliest opportunity. I hope you will all enjoy following my in country travels as much as you enjoyed accompanying me on my international travels in years past.

Keep an eye out for my next entry. I should be coming soon. =)

Ciao,
Rachel

Advertisement



Tot: 0.151s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 16; qc: 68; dbt: 0.0791s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb