Spring Break and Legoland


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Encinitas
March 23rd 2010
Published: March 23rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Spring break has started and the camp ground was full last weekend. Weekdays are mostly full. We were prepared for calamity, chaos and wildly drinking teens. It didn't happen but our work has increased lot.
The biggest change is the number of little kids recklessly riding their bicycles. My son was very slowly backing out of a parking spot at our site and almost hit one when the kid drove by him very fast. The kids co-riding friend watched in horror as his friend cut off the car. Oh Well!! There is also a state law that all persons under 18 must wear a helmet on any wheeled vehicle (bikes, scooters, skate boards). This is a tough one to enforce. We do not enforce, just inform. The gun toters (Park Rangers) enforce.

Now that the campground is officially in summer mode, our duties have been reduced. We had been checking toilet paper hourly and cleaning the sites after being vacated. Now the paid park staff will do this. I guess the management wants to keep their staff busier. I was really starting to love restocking toilet paper.

My granddaughter, Hope, spent all last week with us. Russ and Deb
ChildrenChildrenChildren

Playing with clay
brought her down two weekends ago and came back this last weekend to get her. Hope is 5 and this was her first time ever being away from home. Tuesday night she had a meltdown around 10 pm. She talked to her parents on the phone and soon she was feeling good. I was thinking: If I leave for her home about 10:30 pm I would be back around 3:00 am. Then I would have to get up at 6:00 am to work. She was great the rest of the time. We went swimming every day. I would wade out into the 57 degree water to mid thigh and she would play in the waves. After about 15 minutes I would convince her that we had had enough when her lips were turning blue. I said we would leave after the next 4 big waves. My RV has an outside shower in the back and a warm rinse off sure feels good. We all went to Legoland last Saturday.



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Children's MuseumChildren's Museum
Children's Museum

Hope spent about 30 minutes on the climbing wall


23rd March 2010

Thanks
Excellent pictures, but I get tired thinking of all that activity. Of course, I'm already tired because it's cloudy. Mary

Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0271s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb