Off to Meet the Ancestors


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Auburn
June 28th 2007
Published: June 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Here is the town of Toulon, Illinois as it appeared in 1925. According to my second cousin Cay “there are only 1,400 people honey: it hasn’t changed all that much.” When I tell people that I am leaving the foothills of California to spend a week in Illinois in July, the reaction is pretty universal: “Are you crazy? Do you know how hot/humid/big the bugs are there?” Cay assures me that there are paved streets, automobiles, air conditioning, and “ we even have indoor plumbing!”


Additional photos below
Photos: 1, Displayed: 1


Advertisement



28th June 2007

perhaps the most relevant question to ask
(at least for the sake of this blog) is: do they have The Internet?
28th June 2007

Fantastic!
Max, I hope you have a GREAT trip and I look forward to hearing about it through the blog.
28th June 2007

Brilliant writing, indeed!
Test of the comment section of TravelBlog...
29th June 2007

Of course, my silly pumpkin girl!
I did check and found out that the Bed and Breakfast where I will be staying has HIGH SPEED internet connection-I had to find that out to be able to rationalize the expense of a laptop and I figured it would be a little bit necessary for the blog. Look, my sweet child! Your momma is entering the 21st century-aren't you proud?
29th June 2007

AHA!
I finally found out where the comments go! And thank you so much for your estemation of my writerly skills.

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0553s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb