Days 1 and 2: Fort Worth to Chattanooga, via Hot Springs


Advertisement
Published: June 2nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

The roadtrip for summer 2011 has begun! I set off from Fort Worth at noon and headed to Hot Springs to spend the night. The drive was very pleasant, especially once I got out of the metroplex. I took Arkansas scenic Highway 7 to get to Hot Springs and the views were very rewarding!

After arriving at the Gulpha Gorge Campground in Hot Springs National Park, I reserved my campsite, set up my tent, and set off on a hike for about 2 hours. I hiked two different trails: the Gulpha Gorge Trail (which leads from the campground to the top of the mountain) and the Goat Rock Trail. The Goat Rock Trail begins at the bottom of a rock that is in the shape of a goat's hoof! There were two overlooks on this trail with beautiful views of the surrounding Hot Springs mountains. After hiking, I went into town. I dipped my hand in the Hot Springs and walked around the downtown shops. The evening culminated with a very late dinner (9:00) at Rocky's Corner (fabulous pizza), where I met a very nice waitress.

After spending a pleasant night in my tent (with a babbling creek beside it), I awoke very early (7:00) to get ready for the day. I started off my day with a full bath at the Buckstaff Bathhouse on Bathhouse Row. Included were a mineral bath in an old-fashioned tub (105 degrees on average), a sitz bath, a steam shower, a hot pack massage, and a needle shower. It was very relaxing and freed up my back quite a bit.

From there, I went on to eat breakfast (an excellent omelette) and tour the free museum in the Hot Springs National Park Visitors Center (formerly the Fordyce Bathhouse). There were replicas of the rooms they used, original equipment, exhibits about the history of Hot Springs, and even an old-style gymnasium! After buying some souvenirs, I hit the road again.

I spent over 10 hours on the road to get to Chattanooga. I travelled through Arkansas, Northern Mississippi and Alabama and finally arrived in Chattanooga after a time change and a 1.5 hour delay in Decatur, Alabama (I will never go through there again). I ate dinner at Cracker Barrel and then checked into my hotel next to Lookout Moutain. I am looking forward to the next few days in the Smoky Mountains and will probably not update this blog for a while!


Additional photos below
Photos: 32, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0432s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb