Standing on the corner in Winslow Arizona


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Arizona » Winslow
May 28th 2009
Published: May 28th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Sue on the cornerSue on the cornerSue on the corner

There were virtually no other tourists so there was no one to take a pic of us together. Gail believes they were all in Sedona packed in the campsites.
We aren't actually in Winslow tonight but have to get caught up on sharing pictures....so here we go. In these pics you will see Gail and Sue standing on the corner. There are murals painted on the sides of the buildings that look almost life-like. There is very little that keeps the town going these days since Interstate 40 took over for the infamous Route 66. There were only 2 little souvenir shops opened on Memorial Day (besides Denny's) when we first arrived. The trains still travel thru Winslow several times every day as they cross east-west corridor of northern Arizona. Gail had been singing Take it Easy since we arrived in this part of the state...so of course, we had to buy an Eagles CD so we could listen to the whole song.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

A real-life muralA real-life mural
A real-life mural

It was quite funny to stand and have our pics taken because the mural behind us was almost life-like. You can see a couple kissing in the second floor window.
TrainsTrains
Trains

We heard the trains a'coming...day and night. Gail loves the sound of trains.
The demise of Route 66The demise of Route 66
The demise of Route 66

One of many hotels that enjoyed a booming tourist industry in the 1950's and 60's. Now a lost piece of Americana...we have no idea what people in Winslow do for a living now.
More demiseMore demise
More demise

While it look like an old abandoned house, there is evidence with the Rubbermaid bin in the front that people still live in this house.
More art workMore art work
More art work

We aren't certain of the origin of this piece but it looks like it may have been done around the time the hotel was built and reproduced or the original came back to it's proper place of rest.


29th May 2009

Eagles....
"Take It Easy" Well, I'm running down the road tryin' to loosen my load I've got seven women on my mind, Four that wanna own me, Two that wanna stone me, One says she's a friend of mine Take It easy, take it easy Don't let the sound of your own wheels drive you crazy Lighten up while you still can don't even try to understand Just find a place to make your stand and take it easy Well, I'm a standing on a corner in Winslow, Arizona and such a fine sight to see It's a girl, my Lord, in a flatbed Ford slowin' down to take a look at me Come on, baby, don't say maybe I gotta know if your sweet love is gonna save me We may lose and we may win though we will never be here again so open up, I'm climbin' in, so take it easy Well I'm running down the road trying to loosen my load, got a world of trouble on my mind lookin' for a lover who won't blow my cover, she's so hard to find Take it easy, take it easy don't let the sound of your own wheels make you crazy come on baby, don't say maybe I gotta know if your sweet love is gonna save me, oh oh oh Oh we got it easy We oughta take it easy
26th September 2009

was there last week. it was neat. love the song.

Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.063s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb