Rewriting The Plot


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Arizona » Tucson
August 21st 2008
Published: August 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

First things first - I have internet again!

I don't even remember what the last post mentioned. I assume it covered the jobs I've acquired and little about Doug.

Let's update, shall we?

So, the jobs are actually working out pretty well. Sunflower is boring as hell, but I keep finding ways to entertain myself (talk to the customers, harass the customers, harass the bosses and fellow workers... of course in a way in which they have no clue that I'm actually mocking them). They, of course, put me in charge of the courtesy coffee. So that is neat. Also, today was interesting. As I was taking care of the coffee stand, the store manager approached me an asked, "Are you vegetarian?" I appropriately scoffed at him. Then a moment later it occurred to me, that was a random ass question. So I rebutted, "Wait, why did you want to know if I was a vegetarian?". They next thing out of his mouth was, essentially, a job opening as a butcher. Which, of course, I'll take. So, that whole thing is underway. He has to talk to other managers and hopefully I'll figure it out soon. But it might not work out, who knows. But it's an interesting opportunity.
I'll be a beef guru.

Common Grounds. Man, this is just hilarious. I am far and above this job. In fact, the boss and the OWNER continually thank me for working there. I am not even kidding. They pay is certainly an interesting scenario. She has this beef with Social Security - she says it's bullshit that we'll probably never see a dime of it when we're older. SOOOOO, just so the Federal Government sees everything, she will be paying us for one week at a time. One week she will give us a check, the next she'll pay us in cash under the table. And it will go on and on like that. Seems fun.
I am a coffee guru.

Doug is still here. Still playing video games. Still, probably, dying from the mold infestation.
Madalyn moved in today. I have yet to meet her, as I went and visited Megan for the first night she's ACTUALLY here. That girl is a whole other story. Anyhoo, Madalyn apparently (via the smell) painted her room already. And by the cups of blue paint in the refrigerator, I'm guessing it's a blue room. But, she's actually not here, which is weird. I'll probably meet her in the morning, who knows.

Life is turning out very interestingly. Sometimes it's wonderful, other times it's awful. But this is when I love F. Scott Fitzgerald the absolute most ---->

It eluded us then, but that's no matter - tomorrow we will run faster, stretch out our arms farther... and one fine morning--

So we beat on, boats against the current, borne back ceaselessly into the past.


Advertisement



22nd August 2008

So you might become a butcher--the young man who can't stand the thought of dead deer. How ironic! It really is a great opportunity. Just watch out for the sharp knives and saws!!! I sent you a small envelope of stuff I thought you could use. I hope the cookies make it without becoming crumbs. Hey, if you haven't sent the check to Dennis yet, (cause we haven't received it yet) maybe you should include the 30 for next month's phone. Just an idea. Glad you have mostly good days and are always hopeful for a good day. I love you and REALLY missing you. Love Mom

Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0205s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1009.3kb