Day 31 - AZ - Monday


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Arizona » Phoenix
September 29th 2008
Published: October 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hi Hi Hi

Today I had to do work all day. Don went golfing at a local golf course. It was sooo cheap. The "snowbirds" aren't here yet so the cheap prices are in effect. It was like $10 to rent clubs, and like $8 for the golf including a cart! They were going back to 1970 prices or something....

Then I walked around the yard with my uncle going over all the stuff in the backyard and all the cactus. There are sooo many types of cactus, it's crazy. And you just need one paddle of them or sprig to plant in the ground and they'll grow and survive. Then they almost all bloom these beautiful huge flowers. Who knew? All the TV and movies don't show the desert or cactus with them in bloom. They always show it all barren and "lonely".... Also - I had no idea that some varieties of cactus people have this equipment to shave off the spikes and then they cook the pieces of cactus like a vegetable and eat it. Then there are like jars of cactus jam, etc.... Crazy. No, I didn't try any. Are you crazy?

Then I always thought someone told us that in the desert all the cactus store all the water so you could chop them open and drink the water. My uncle says no 😊 And one of the types of cactus they have actually has some poisonous water type stuff inside. Yikes.

Still no picture of the little lizards running around. I had one all set up and then Don walked near me and scared it away 😞

Anyway, then we had yummy chicken for dinner with green beans and peas 😊

My aunt and uncle are so cool -- they tape and watch Jay Leno, Sat. night live, my show Bones, and Two & Half Men and so on... 😊

Watch TV and work some more then time for bed.

My poor aunt - the last few nights she can even hear Don snore from their room!! Yikes.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.131s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0456s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb