Phoenix and LA


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Arizona » Phoenix
March 14th 2008
Published: March 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Toni DrivingToni DrivingToni Driving

Toni picking me up from the airport!
WOW! What a great trip out West. I got to spend time with Toni and Queenie, two of my best friends from Stephens. It was thrilling to see a part of my country that looks SO different than the rolling, tree covered hills of GA. And going to La definitely made me understand why everyone thinks it's so great. Because it is. It is a BEAUTIFUL city.

I flew out to Phoenix and Toni was there to pick me up. I couldn't believe I hadn't seen her since Graduation in 2004. It really did my soul good. We spent some good quality time seeing Phoenix, including a tour of all the theatres Toni had worked at! It was shocking, however, when she told me about the state of the theatre community there. There is ONE paid theatre, and it's salary is not even enough to cover Toni's gas to get there! So, that's one thing she is working to remedy. . .

We drove out to LA, and the scenery is so beautiful, and so unique. Except when we drove through the patch that smelled like. . . you know.

LA is AWESOME. I got to see SO
GF PizzaGF PizzaGF Pizza

My first slice of pizza in years! It's gluten free, no cheese from some great place in AZ.
many of our friends, including Park and I's friend from high school, Jason and his wife, Lauren who drove out to see us at the Pier. We ate at RAW, a crazy expensive but delightful Raw food place. We also hit up the Viceroy Hotel, and it's calorie counting menus.

I can't wait to get back out west, to visit. . . or to live? Who wouldn't want to walk to the beach every day?




Additional photos below
Photos: 47, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Getting gasGetting gas
Getting gas

Toni and I filling up on the way to LA!
PerfumePerfume
Perfume

Perfume machine. . . and it's malfunction. . .
Perfume 2Perfume 2
Perfume 2

That machine spit on Toni! And it smelled like butt.
SceneryScenery
Scenery

The beautiful drive to LA.
Scenery 2Scenery 2
Scenery 2

The windmills. Yay, wind power!
Scenery 3Scenery 3
Scenery 3

Palm trees!
DriveDrive
Drive

What a beautiful day. . . and therefore a beautiful myspace photo. . .
LALA
LA

Friends after a gluten free PF Chang's feast.
Viceroy Viceroy
Viceroy

The Viceroy drink menu. . .
Viceroy Viceroy
Viceroy

Choosing the best things. . .
Viceroy Viceroy
Viceroy

Yeah, the calories are on the menu. It's LA.
Viceroy Viceroy
Viceroy

Mmmm. Gluten free cake.
Viceroy Viceroy
Viceroy

More treats.
Viceroy Viceroy
Viceroy

Me and Toni!
Viceroy Viceroy
Viceroy

Again!
CBTLCBTL
CBTL

The mecca of tea lattes. Oh, I love LA.
CBTLCBTL
CBTL

Oh, Coffee Bean, I love you. . . . . . .
CBTLCBTL
CBTL

Walkin' in LA. . . no one walks in LA. Except us!
RawRaw
Raw

Waiting for our food (forever) at Raw, THE raw food eatery in LA.


Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 14; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0366s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb