Benson to Patagonia Lake


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Arizona » Patagonia
March 16th 2020
Published: March 23rd 2020
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


blog 03-16-20 Benson to Patagonia Lake

I got up early and organized because the repair man was coming to fix my propane furnace. I have no electric here so it has been 45 inside the camper in the morning so getting the heater fixed was necessary.

They arrived early and about 1 hr later declared my heater repaired. I had to leave the park by 11 am and I sure was ready to go. A quick stop at the grocery store and we were off, south on 82 then southeast on another small road. It only took about 1 1/2 hrs so before long we were settled and off exploring our new home for a week. I really like this campsite. It's level and is surrounded by trees and overlooks the lake, what more can you want.

I went to the Visitor's center to discover they had lots of bird feeders outside along with a pond and beautiful plantings, a birders heaven. There were hummingbirds all over not afraid of people and some zoomed past me so close I felt the wind from them. I had a terrific time snapping away but need to practice a bit more to get some good shots. These are all strange birds to me, most of the hummers are broad-billed with green bodies and blue throats and red beaks. They seem to flash their feathers and the colors change as they do it.

Back at the camper it was time to relax and settle in for the night. Bad news is there is no cell service here or tv reception so I'm cut off from the rest of the world. This park is in a valley surrounded by some tall mountains. Makes perfect terrain for a dam for the lake but forget the outside world, oh wait, that's what I wanted....


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0495s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb